CLA Student Spotlight: Ashley Guerrero, Fulbright Research Award Finalist

Ashley Guerrero Major: Geography, MA Location of Graduate Studies: Fulbright Research Award, France What does it mean to you to be a Fulbright Finalist? I’m humbled that I have reached this stage in the process. To me, being a Fulbright Finalist means I have the opportunity to be a cultural ambassador to France. Having previously lived […]

Beach Forensics Qualifies to National Championships!

Beach Forensics continued its momentous season by qualifying to numerous national championship tournaments in the beginning of March. First, the group of Rebecca Cantor (Beach Forensics Team President), Zhongliang Gai, Isabel Guzman, Harmony Hernandez, and Lynzie Hinman all individually qualified to both the National Speech Championship and National Forensic Association National Championship in May! This […]

Beach Forensics Continued Building Its Momentum

Beach Forensics continued building its momentum over another few busy weekends of competition. Two weekends ago, the team of Benjamin Robbins and Samra Tekle finished as finalists in Junior British Parliamentary Debate at the Mahaffey Memorial Tournament. That same weekend, Rachel Thibodeaux finished as a finalist in the rookie division at the American Debate Association […]

Beach Forensics Wins Again: A Very Successful Start to Fall

Beach Forensics has had a busy few weekends chocked full of success. A few weekends ago, the team competed at the Crossman Invitational Tournament in National Parliamentary Debate and International Public Debate. In National Parliamentary Debate, the team of Sebastian Chavez and Rachel Thibodeaux advanced to the Round of 32, with Thibodeaux being recognized as […]

Beach Forensics Starts 2020-2021 Season Strong

Beach Forensics concluded two consecutive weekends of competitive speech and debate tournament action with a strong start to the 2020-2021 season. On September 19, 20, and 21, Beach Forensics hosted the annual Jack Howe Memorial Invitational, one of the largest middle and high-school speech and debate tournaments in the nation. Adapting to the circumstances brought […]

Beach Forensics wins 2020 Cross-Examination Debate Association (CEDA) National Championship Annual Awards

Although the 2020 Cross-Examination Debate Association (CEDA) National Championship tournament was cancelled due to COVID-19, the organization decided to proceed with their annual awards virtually by announcing them on the organization’s Facebook page. I’m pleased to share that CSU Long Beach’s Beach Forensics team received four of the organization’s most coveted awards this year. Information about the […]

Beach Forensics has qualified two teams to the National Debate Tournament (NDT)

Beach Forensics has qualified two teams to the National Debate Tournament (NDT). For those unfamiliar, the NDT is akin to “March Madness,” or the NCAA Tournament for intercollegiate policy debate. CSU Long Beach has not qualified to this tournament since 2005, and the tournament is the nation’s most prestigious debate competition between the top 72 […]

Beach Forensics Wins at the Hannie Shaft Invitational at Southwestern College

The last regular season tournament for Beach Forensics’ policy debate team concluded this afternoon, the Hannie Shaft Invitational at Southwestern College. In the rookie division, the team of Natalie Lahney and Chris Steveson finished with a 3-3 record. At his debut tournament, Chris was recognized as the 4th speaker in the division, an impressive feat […]

Beach Forensics Wins!

The CSULB Forensics team has returned from their season opener at Arizona State University with multiple wins. The team had multiple individual awards: Novice, Maggie Franckhauser and Catherine Lucas-Castillo; Junior Varsity, Brad Schindler and Christian Vazquez; and in Varsity, Georgie Suico and Noah Christiansen all received awards. In the team competition, the varsity freshman/freshman team […]

CLA Congratulates 2019 University Achievement Award Recipients

CLA is proud of our faculty, staff and students who were this year’s award winners. Please join me in congratulating: For the complete list of award recipients, please read the article: