Advisors

Advising Information

General Information

Advising in the Department of History is available to all students interested in a major, minor, a teaching credential, or a special major combining History with another discipline. Students are strongly encouraged to see the Undergraduate Advisors Dr. Jane Dabel (Jane.Dabel@csulb.edu) or Dr. Ali Igmen (Ali.Igmen@csulb.edu) at an early stage in the major and throughout the development of their programs. Program Planners (also known as graduation checks) need to be filled out by the advisor in the semester before the semester of planned graduation and before the deadline for filing a Request to Graduate (For deadlines, see Schedule of Classes). Students must bring fully completed worksheets to the Undergraduate Advisor at which point the advisor will fill out a graduation check by reviewing the student’s unofficial transcripts and History Major’s Worksheet (Click here for access to worksheets). Applicants for a teaching credential should see the Credential Advisor, Dr. Eileen Luhr (Eileen.Luhr@csulb.edu). Applicants to the graduate program should see the Graduate Advisor Dr. Murdock (C.Murdock@csulb.edu). You may also contact the department at (562) 985-4431 for more information.

Department Contacts  –  Fall 2022 Advising Hours

Department Chair
Dr. David Shafer, FO2-102, David.Shafer@csulb.edu

 
Or email to request an appointment

Undergraduate Advisors

Dr. Ali İğmen, FO2-116, Ali.Igmen@csulb.edu
Monday: 1:00 – 3:00 p.m.
Wednesday: 1:00 – 3:00 p.m., and 5:00 – 6:00 p.m. 

Dr. Jane Dabel, FO2-202, Jane.Dabel@csulb.edu 
Tuesdays 11:00 am – 1:30 pm. via Zoom
Thursdays 11:00 am – 1:30 pm via Zoom
Zoom link:  https://csulb.zoom.us/my/janedabel

Graduate Advisor

Dr. Caitlin Murdock, FO2-203, C.Murdock@csulb.edu
Tuesday 2:00-3:00
Thursday 11:00-12:00
Zoom room for Office Hours: https://csulb.zoom.us/j/2134388059

Credential Advisor:

Dr. Eileen Luhr, FO2-122, Eileen.Luhr@csulb.edu
Mondays 3:00-5:00 pm
Tuesdays 3:00-5:00 pm

Student Teacher Placement Coordinator:

Gail Hamilton, FO2-117, Gail.Hamilton@csulb.edu
Tuesday: 2-3 pm (in-person or on Zoom)
Wednesday: 3-4 pm (in-person or on Zoom)
Thursday: 2-3 (Zoom only)
and by appointment on Zoom: https://calendly.com/gail-hamilton/15min
Prof. Hamilton’s Zoom link:  https://csulb.zoom.us/j/5629854428


History Honors Coordinator (F21):

Dr. Andrew Fogleman, FO2-214, Andrew.Fogleman@csulb.edu

 

Helpful forms and information may be found here:

History Major General Information Postcard

History Major Worksheet

Single Subject Credential Planner:00