People – Current Faculty

The best way to contact instructors is via email.  Voice messages are not recommended.

If you are a registered student, please refer to your course syllabi which should contain faculty office hours and contact information.  If you are not a student, please email for an appointment. 

Additional hours are available by appointment.  Please email the faculty directly to schedule an appointment. 

Full-Time Faculty

Professor Name Instructor Title Instructor Interests

Office Hours

Office Hour Meeting Mode

E. Berquist Soule, Ph.D
Email: Emily.Berquist@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-226 Phone: n/a 
Professor Colonial Latin America and the Spanish Empire; Slavery and the Slave Trade; Atlantic History; Imperial Governance; Indigenous Peoples; The History of Religion Tuesdays 12:00-1:00 Zoom

J. Blutinger, Ph.D.
Email: Jeffrey.Blutinger@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-210 Phone: (562) 985-2196

Professor Chair, Jewish Studies Program Modern Europe, World, Jewish Studies (modern Jewish history, Holocaust, memory, historiography)

Tuesdays and Thursdays 3:45 – 4:45

In-person

I. Bolaños, Ph.D. 
Email:
Isacar.Bolanos@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-111
Phone:  

Assistant
Professor
 

Mondays and Wednesdays, 11:00-12:00, 2:00-3:00 

Zoom

P. Cleary, Ph.D.
Email: Patricia.Cleary@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 212 Phone: (562) 985 – 4419

Professor United States (Revolution, early America) None.  

K. Curtis, Ph.D.
Email: Kenneth.Curtis@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-224 Phone: (562) 985-2401

Professor Africa, Comparative World Mondays and Wednesdays, 10:45am-11:45am

Zoom

J. Dabel, Ph.D.
Email: Jane.Dabel@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-202 Phone: (562) 985-2408

Professor Editor, The History Teacher Undergraduate Advisor  

None (sabbatical S22)

 

A. Fogleman
Email: Andrew.Fogleman@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-214   Phone: (562) 985-4425

Lecturer  Medieval Europe (Medicine, Religious Visionaries, Universities) multiple by class (please see syllabi)  

J. Gomer, Ph.D.
Email: Justin.Gomer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-105A Phone: (562) 985-5090

Associate Professor United States, American Studies (African American Studies, race and cultural theory) Thursdays, 11:00-12:30  

G. Hamilton
Email: Gail.Hamilton@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-117   Phone: n/a

Lecturer   Tuesdays 1:00 – 3:00;
Thursdays 1:00 – 3:00
Zoom

A. Igmen, Ph.D. Email: ali.igmen@csulb.edu Office: FO2-116 Phone: (562) 985-8765

Professor Undergraduate Advisor Director, Oral History Program Central Asia, Russia, Middle East, World (theater, cultural)

Monday 12:00-3:00 p.m. & Wednesday 1:00-3:30 p.m

In-person and on Zoom

A. Jenks, Ph.D.
Email: andrew.jenks@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-207 Phone: (562) 985-8759

Professor Modern Europe, Russia (politics, technology, environment) Tuesdays 11:00-2:00 In-person

R.S. Judge, Ph.D. 
Email: Rajbir.Judge@csulb.edu
Office:   FO2-113
Phone:   

Assistant
Professor

South Asia; Theory; Global Intellectual History; Colonialism and Empire Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays 10:00-11:00 In-person and Zoom

M. Kelleher, Ph.D.
Email: m.kelleher@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-120  Phone: (562) 985-4462

Professor Medieval Europe (women & gender, medieval Spain, law and legal culture, Mediterranean encounters)
Tuesdays 1:00-1:45 & 5:00-6:00; Wednesdays 5:00-6:00; Thursdays 1:00-1:45
Zoom

M. Kuo, Ph.D.
Email: margaret.kuo@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-215  Phone:(562) 985-4426

Professor Asia (modern China)

Mondays and Wednesdays 10:00-11:30

Zoom

M. Larsen, Ph.D

email: mik.larsen@csulb.edu

Office: FO2-108 Phone: (562) 985-4612

Professor Ancient Rome: social and cultural history, social mobility, rhetoric, religion Tuesdays and Thursdays 5:00-6:00; Wednesdays 2:00-4:00 In-person

J. Lawler
Email: Jeffrey.Lawler@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-218   Phone: (562) 985-4420

Lecturer United States: The American West, Culture of games and computing technology Tuesdays and Thursdays 11:00-1:00 p Zoom

G. Li, Ph.D.
Email: GT.Li@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-220   Phone: (562) 985-4465

Professor Asia (Late Imperial China, family & gender, migration & social mobility) Tuesdays and Thursdays 12:45-1:45 Zoom

E. Luhr, Ph.D.
Email: Eileen.Luhr@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-122   Phone: (562) 985-4511

 

Professor Advisor, Social Science Credential Program United States (modern/contemporary U.S., politics, religion, cultural)

Mondays & Wednesdays 1:00-3:00,  5:15-6:15 (no hours 3/28 or 3/30; hours end on 5/11)

In-person

B. Mizelle, Ph.D.
Email: Brett.Mizelle@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-109   Phone: (562) 985-4424

Professor Director, American Studies United States, American studies (cultural, Early Republic and Antebellum, human-animal relationships, nature/culture)  Tuesdays, 12:30-1:30; Wednesdays, 4:00-5:00 In-person

C. Murdock, Ph.D.
Email: C.Murdock@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-203   Phone: (562) 985-2601

Professor Graduate Advisor Modern Europe, Central & Eastern Europe, Germany (borderlands, social, cultural, transnational)

Tuesday 5:00-6:00, Thursday 9:30-10:30

In-person or Zoom Tuesdays, Zoom only Thursdays

U. Piña, Ph.D.
Email:  Ulices.Pina@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-112  Phone: (562) 985-4426

Assistant Professor Modern Latin America, Mexico Wednesday 10:00-1:00;  Thursday 12:00-2:00  

C. Ponce de Leon, Ph.D.
Email: Charles.Poncedeleon@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-214   Phone: (562) 985-4425

Professor United States, American Studies (20th c. Cultural and Intellectual, Mass Media) Tuesdays 10:00-11:50  

N. Quam-Wickham,
Ph.D.
Email: Nancy.Quam-Wickham@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-208   Phone: (562) 985-4449

Professor United States (Western) Mondays 2:00-3:30pm Zoom

S. Schrank, Ph.D.
Email: Sarah.Schrank@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-204   Phone: (562) 985-2293

Professor United States (urban, public art, culture, women, California)

By appointment

Zoom

D. Shafer, Ph.D.
Email: david.shafer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-102   Phone: (562) 985-4431
Professor
Chair, Dept of History
Modern Europe (France, revolutions, cultural)
Tuesdays 10:30-12:00; Wednesdays 10:30-12:00; Thursdays 3:00-4:00
Zoom

P. Sharma Ph.D.
Email: Preeti.Sharma@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-110   Phone: (562) 985-5428

Assistant Professor

American Studies

Weds. 2:00-3:00 pm  

D. Sheridan, Ph.D.
Email: David.Sheridan@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-118   Phone: (562) 985-4458

Lecturer Modern Europe (Britain, gender, music, culture)
Tuesdays: 1:152:30PM; 5:005:30PM; 
Thursdays: 1:15-2:30PM

 

S. Smith
Email: sean.smith@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-212   Phone: (562) 985-4419

 Lecturer  United States (19th c. American West, social & cultural)

Mondays and Wednesdays: 1:00-3:00 pm; Tuesdays 2:00–4:00 pm

 

M. Takeuchi, Ph.D.
Email: Michiko.Takeuchi@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-114   Phone: (562) 985-4440

Associate Professor Japan (U.S.-Japan relations, women, sexuality) Tuesdays 12:45-1:45pm by appointment only Zoom

H. Wilford, Ph.D.
Email: hugh.wilford@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-216   Phone: (562) 985-4422

Professor United States (20th c., intellectual & diplomatic)

Tuesdays 1:30-2:30;  Thursdays 1:30-2:30,  5:00-6:00

 

Part-Time Faculty

Professor Name Title Professor Interests Office Hours  

G. Beirich
Email: Gregory.Beirich@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-118   

Lecturer Medieval Europe (intellectual & religious, monasticism & heresy) Mondays and Wednesdays 10:00 AM-12:00 Noon

In-person

K.T. Bender
Email:  kt.bender@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-226

Lecturer

American Studies

Mondays 1:00-3:00 Zoom

M. Berkley
Email: Matt.Berkley@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-201 

Lecturer   Mondays 8:00-9:00AM Zoom

D. Binkiewicz
Email: Donna.Binkiewicz@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-107   Phone: (562) 985-4423

Lecturer United States (recent, labor, immigration, & culture)

Mondays and Wednesdays 9:30 am-10:30 am and 1:45 pm-2:15 pm

 

D. Bolelli
Email: bodhi1974@yahoo.com
Office: FO3-306   Phone: n/a

Lecturer United States, Ancient Rome, Native American History, History of World Religions

Mondays 12:00-2:00

 

Online

N. Cates
Email: Neal.Cates@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-201   Phone: (562) 985-4423

Lecturer History education in secondary schools, World History, Globalizing US History Thursdays 7:55 PM – 9 PM Zoom

J. Chen
Email:  John.Chen@csulb.edu
Office:  none

Lecturer   By appointment  M-F 9am-6pm Zoom

M. Chow
Email: Melanie.Chow@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-215

Lecturer   Mondays and Wednesdays 9:30-10:45   

J. Deavenport
Email:  James.Deavenport@csulb.edu
Office: none

Lecturer   Thursdays 2:00-3:00 PM Zoom

K. Flach 
Email: Kate.Flach@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-224   

Lecturer Modern U.S. History (media, race, gender, social movements, education) Wednesday, 10:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m.  Zoom

G. Hamilton
Email: Gail.Hamilton@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-117   Phone: n/a

Lecturer   Tuesdays: 1:00 – 3:00;

Thursdays: 1:00 – 3:00
Zoom

L. Hashima
Email:  Larry.Hashima@csulb.edu
Office:  FO3-217

Lecturer American Studies Tuesdays 11:00 am – 12:00 pm  Zoom

A. Hawk, Ph.D.
Email: Angela.Hawk@csulb.edu
Office: n/a  Phone: n/a

Lecturer U.S. and World History, California History, History of Medicine and Mental Health
9:30-10:00 Monday, Wednesday,  Thursday;  
2pm to 3 pm Tuesday; 
2:00 to 2:30 Friday
Zoom

H. Hernandez
Email: Holly.Hernandez@csulb.edu
Office: none

Lecturer   Monday through Thursday, 1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. Zoom

L.L. Hodges
Email:  Lilylucas.Hodges@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-114

Lecturer   Mondays and Wednesdays 2:00-3:00 pm  

B. Huntsinger
Email: Ben.Huntsinger@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-117 

 Lecturer History Education, Development of reading and writing literacy, Civic Education Tuesdays
2:00-2:45 pm
Zoom

B. Jackson
Email:  Brande.Jackson@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-201

Lecturer American Studies In-person: Mondays 3:30pm – 5pm, Tuesdays 5pm – 6:30pm

Zoom drop in:  Tuesdays 4pm – 5pm

both (see list)
R. Lopez
Email: Robert.Lopez@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-202
Lecturer   Tuesdays and Thursdays 9:30-11:30am; Wednesdays 4:30-6:15pm In-person or on Zoom

C. Majoros
Email:  Christie.Majoros@csulb.edu
Email:  FO2-120

Lecturer   Thursdays 2:00-3:00 pm  
L. Mehlbrech Email: Linda.Mehlbrech@csulb.edu Office: FO2- Phone: (562) 985-4428   Lecturer      
C. Mills
Email:  Connor.Mills@csulb.edu
Office:  None
Lecturer   Tuesdays and Thursdays, 3:00-4:00pm Zoom

R. Morris
Email: Racheli.Morris@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-210   

 Lecturer Hebrew Mondays and Wednesdays 11:00am by appointment only Zoom

B. O’Neil, Ph.D.
Email: Brian.Oneil@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-220

Lecturer United States (foreign relations, U.S.-Latin America, WWII, Cold War & Vietnam, immigration, CA history)

Mondays and Wednesdays 10:45-11:30am

In-person

C. Parker
Email: Caitlin.Parker@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-107

 Lecturer  US History (Post-1945, Political, Urban, and Race/Ethnicity) Tuesdays 12:15-1:15 PM;  Thursdays 2:30 -3:30; 6:15-7:15 PM Zoom

R. Schraff
Email: rob.schraff@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-108   

Lecturer   Tuesdays and Thursdays 1:00 to 4:30 PM,  

A. Striegl
Email: Anton.Striegl@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-122   

 Lecturer      

D. Vasquez
Email: Danah.Vasquez@csulb.edu
Office/Phone:  none

Lecturer  

Tuesdays and Thursdays 11am-12:30 pm and by appointment

 

A. Wemmer
Email: Adam.Wemmer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-117   

 Lecturer History Education, Development of reading and writing literacy, Civic Education

Tuesdays
2:00-2:45 pm

Zoom

E. Wilkinson
Email:  Ted.Wilkinson@csulb.edu
Office:  none

Lecturer   Tuesdays and Thursdays 3:15pm-4:15pm, Mondays and Wednesdays 10:45-11:45am; Tuesdays 9:15pm to 10:15pm Zoom