People – Current Faculty

The best way to contact instructors is via email.  Voice messages are not recommended.

If you are a registered student, please refer to your course syllabi which should contain faculty office hours and contact information.  If you are not a student, please email for an appointment. 

Additional hours are available by appointment.  Please email the faculty directly to schedule an appointment. 

Full-Time Faculty

Professor Name Instructor Title Instructor Interests

Office Hours

Office Hour Meeting Mode

E. Berquist Soule, Ph.D
Email: Emily.Berquist@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-226 Phone: n/a 
Professor Colonial Latin America and the Spanish Empire; Slavery and the Slave Trade; Atlantic History; Imperial Governance; Indigenous Peoples; The History of Religion  MW 10-11 AM Zoom

J. Blutinger, Ph.D.
Email: Jeffrey.Blutinger@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-210 Phone: (562) 985-2196

Professor Chair, Jewish Studies Program Modern Europe, World, Jewish Studies (modern Jewish history, Holocaust, memory, historiography)

None F22

 

I. Bolaños, Ph.D. 
Email:
Isacar.Bolanos@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-111
Phone:  

Assistant
Professor
  None F22, S23

 

P. Cleary, Ph.D.
Email: Patricia.Cleary@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 212 Phone: (562) 985 – 4419

Professor United States (Revolution, early America) MW 12:30-1:00 PM
M 5:00-6:00 PM
In-person

K. Curtis, Ph.D.
Email: Kenneth.Curtis@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-224 Phone: (562) 985-2401

Professor Africa, Comparative World MW 9:30-10:30am, 3:30-4:30p                In person

J. Dabel, Ph.D.
Email: Jane.Dabel@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-202 Phone: (562) 985-2408

Professor Editor, The History Teacher Undergraduate Advisor   T/Th 11 AM – 1:30 PM Online

A. Fogleman
Email: Andrew.Fogleman@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-214   Phone: (562) 985-4425

Full-time Lecturer  Medieval Europe (Medicine, Religious Visionaries, Universities) Hist 101: T/Th 9:15-9:30 am Hist 301: T/Th 1:45-2:00 pm Hist 333: T/Th 4:45-5:00 pm In-person

J. Gomer, Ph.D.
Email: Justin.Gomer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-105A Phone: (562) 985-5090

Associate Professor United States, American Studies (African American Studies, race and cultural theory)    

G. Hamilton
Email: Gail.Hamilton@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-117   Phone: n/a

Full-time Lecturer

  T 2-3 PM
W 3-4 pm
Th 2-3 (Zoom only)
In-person and on Zoom except Thursday

A. Igmen, Ph.D. 
Email: ali.igmen@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-116 Phone: (562) 985-8765

Professor Undergraduate Advisor Director, Oral History Program Central Asia, Russia, Middle East, World (theater, cultural) MW 1-3 PM
W 5-6 PM
In person

A. Jenks, Ph.D.
Email: andrew.jenks@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-207 Phone: (562) 985-8759

Professor Modern Europe, Russia (politics, technology, environment) T 1:00-3:00 pm  Th 1:00-3:00 pm In-person

R.S. Judge, Ph.D. 
Email: Rajbir.Judge@csulb.edu
Office:   FO2-113
Phone:   

Assistant
Professor

South Asia; Theory; Global Intellectual History; Colonialism and Empire TTh 2-3 PM In-person

M. Kelleher, Ph.D.
Email: m.kelleher@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-120  Phone: (562) 985-4462

Professor Medieval Europe (women & gender, medieval Spain, law and legal culture, Mediterranean encounters) TTh 2-3 PM In-person

M. Kuo, Ph.D.
Email: margaret.kuo@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-215  Phone:(562) 985-4426

Professor Asia (modern China) MW 10-11:30 AM In-person

M. Larsen, Ph.D

email: mik.larsen@csulb.edu

Office: FO2-108 Phone: (562) 985-4612

Full-time Lecturer Ancient Rome: social and cultural history, social mobility, rhetoric, religion T 2-4 PM
W 3-5 PM
In-person

J. Lawler
Email: Jeffrey.Lawler@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-218   Phone: (562) 985-4420

Lecturer United States: The American West, Culture of games and computing technology TTh 9:30-11 AM, 2-3:30 PM In-person

G. Li, Ph.D.
Email: GT.Li@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-220   Phone: (562) 985-4465

Professor Asia (Late Imperial China, family & gender, migration & social mobility) TTh 12:50-1:50 PM In-person

E. Luhr, Ph.D.
Email: Eileen.Luhr@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-122   Phone: (562) 985-4511

 

Professor Advisor, Social Science Credential Program United States (modern/contemporary U.S., politics, religion, cultural) M 3:00-5:00 PM
T 3-5 PM
In-person

B. Mizelle, Ph.D.
Email: Brett.Mizelle@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-109   Phone: (562) 985-4424

Professor Director, American Studies United States, American studies (cultural, Early Republic and Antebellum, human-animal relationships, nature/culture) T 3:30-4:30 PM
Th 12:30-1:30 PM
In-person

C. Murdock, Ph.D.
Email: C.Murdock@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-203   Phone: (562) 985-2601

Professor Graduate Advisor Modern Europe, Central & Eastern Europe, Germany (borderlands, social, cultural, transnational) T 2-3
Th 11-12
In-person

U. Piña, Ph.D.
Email:  Ulices.Pina@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-112  Phone: (562) 985-4426

Assistant Professor Modern Latin America, Mexico None F22, S23  

C. Ponce de Leon, Ph.D.
Email: Charles.Poncedeleon@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-214   Phone: (562) 985-4425

Professor United States, American Studies (20th c. Cultural and Intellectual, Mass Media)  T 10 to 11:50 AM In-person and on Zoom

N. Quam-Wickham,
Ph.D.
Email: Nancy.Quam-Wickham@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-208   Phone: (562) 985-4449

Professor United States (Western) M 5-6 PM
T 5-6 PM
W 7-8 PM
Mon, Tues in-person   WednesdayZoom

S. Schrank, Ph.D.
Email: Sarah.Schrank@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-204   Phone: (562) 985-2293

Professor United States (urban, public art, culture, women, California)

By appointment

Zoom

D. Shafer, Ph.D.
Email: david.shafer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-102   Phone: (562) 985-4431
Professor
Chair, Dept of History
Modern Europe (France, revolutions, cultural)    

P. Sharma Ph.D.
Email: Preeti.Sharma@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-110   Phone: (562) 985-5428

Assistant Professor

American Studies

   

D. Sheridan, Ph.D.
Email: David.Sheridan@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-118   Phone: (562) 985-4458

Full-time Lecturer

Modern Europe (Britain, gender, music, culture) TR 9:00AM-9:25 (Zoom)
T 2:35-3:25PM, 5:20-6:25PM
Th 2:35-3:25PM
Morning Zoom, afternoon in-person

S. Smith
Email: sean.smith@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-212   Phone: (562) 985-4419

 Full-time Lecturer

 United States (19th c. American West, social & cultural)  MW 2-4:30 PM
T 2-4:30 PM
In-person

M. Takeuchi, Ph.D.
Email: Michiko.Takeuchi@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-114   Phone: (562) 985-4440

Associate Professor Japan (U.S.-Japan relations, women, sexuality)

None F22

 

H. Wilford, Ph.D.
Email: hugh.wilford@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-216   Phone: (562) 985-4422

Professor United States (20th c., intellectual & diplomatic)

None F22

 

Part-Time Faculty

Professor Name Title Professor Interests Office Hours  
H. Agnew 
Email: Heather.Agnew@csulb.edu 
Office FO2-207
Lecturer   M 9-9:30 AM, 10:45- 11:15 AM In-person

G. Beirich
Email: Gregory.Beirich@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-118   

Lecturer Medieval Europe (intellectual & religious, monasticism & heresy) MW 9:30-11:00 AM In-person

K.T. Bender
Email:  kt.bender@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-226

Lecturer

American Studies

TTh 11 AM -12 PM In-person

M. Berkley
Email: Matt.Berkley@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-201 

Lecturer  Architectural History, California History, History of the American West, and United States History TTh 9:30 -10:30 AM In-person

D. Binkiewicz
Email: Donna.Binkiewicz@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-107   Phone: (562) 985-4423

Lecturer United States (recent, labor, immigration, & culture)  MW 11 am-12 pm, 3-3:30 pm In-person

D. Bolelli
Email: bodhi1974@yahoo.com
Office: FO3-306   Phone: n/a

Lecturer United States, Ancient Rome, Native American History, History of World Religions M 10-12 Zoom

N. Cates
Email: Neal.Cates@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-201   Phone: (562) 985-4423

Lecturer History education in secondary schools, World History, Globalizing US History Th 7:55-9pm In-person

M. Chow
Email: Melanie.Chow@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-215

Lecturer   MW 9:30-10:45 AM In-person

J. Deavenport
Email:  James.Deavenport@csulb.edu
Office: none

Lecturer     Zoom

K. Flach 
Email: Kate.Flach@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-224   

Lecturer Modern U.S. History (media, race, gender, social movements, education) M/W, 1-2 PM
 TTh, 2-3 PM
In-person
A. Grant 
Email: AnnaBella.Grant@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-214
Lecturer   W 4-6pm In-person

H. Hernandez
Email: Holly.Hernandez@csulb.edu
Office: none

Lecturer   T 2-3 PM
Th 11 AM-2PM
Zoom

L.L. Hodges
Email:  Lilylucas.Hodges@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-114

Lecturer   M 1-3 PM In-person

B. Huntsinger
Email: Ben.Huntsinger@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-117 

 Lecturer History Education, Development of reading and writing literacy, Civic Education    

B. Jackson
Email:  Brande.Jackson@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-201

Lecturer American Studies Drop in T 5-6 PM
Th 9 -11 AM
Zoom
G. Joachim 
Email: Gunner.Joachim@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-205
Lecturer   T 5-6:15 PM In-person
R. Lopez
Email: Robert.Lopez@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-202
Lecturer   MW 9:30 AM-12:30 PM, 2-2:30 PM In-person
C. McCombs 
Email: C.McCombs@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-216
Lecturer   MW 1-3   PM In-person

L. Mehlbrech Email: Linda.Mehlbrech@csulb.edu Office: FO2- Phone: (562) 985-4428 

 Lecturer      

R. Morris
Email: Racheli.Morris@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-210   

 Lecturer Hebrew MW 10:30-11:30 AM Online

B. O’Neil, Ph.D.
Email: Brian.Oneil@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-220

Lecturer United States (foreign relations, U.S.-Latin America, WWII, Cold War & Vietnam, immigration, CA history) MW 11 AM-12 PM In-person
M. Rafi
Email:  muhammad.rafi@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 204
Lecturer   M 11:30 AM-1:30 PM
TTh 12:30-1:30 PM, 3:30-4:30 PM
In-person

R. Schraff
Email: rob.schraff@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-108   

Lecturer    TTh 12:00-3:30 PM In-person

A. Striegl
Email: Anton.Striegl@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-122   

 Lecturer      
D. Vasquez
Email: Danah.Vasquez@csulb.edu
Office/Phone:  FO2-114
Lecturer   MW 11:30 AM –12:45 PM In person

A. Wemmer
Email: Adam.Wemmer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-117   

 Lecturer History Education, Development of reading and writing literacy, Civic Education

 

 

E. Wilkinson
Email:  Ted.Wilkinson@csulb.edu
Office:  none

Lecturer   TuTh 1:30pm to 5:30pm

In-person

A. Woodsum, Ph.D.
Email:  Antonina.Woodsum@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-202
Lecturer   TTh 11:15 AM -12:30 PM
W 3-4pm
TTh In-person, W online