People – Current Faculty

The best way to contact instructors is via email.  Voice messages are not recommended.

Spring 2022 hours will be posted soon.  If you are a registered student, please refer to your course syllabi which should contain faculty office hours and contact information.  

Additional hours are available by appointment.  Please email the faculty directly to schedule an appointment. 

Full-Time Faculty

Professor Name Instructor Title Instructor Interests

Office Hours

E. Berquist Soule, Ph.D
Email: Emily.Berquist@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-226 Phone: n/a 
Professor Colonial Latin America and the Spanish Empire; Slavery and the Slave Trade; Atlantic History; Imperial Governance; Indigenous Peoples; The History of Religion  

J. Blutinger, Ph.D.
Email: Jeffrey.Blutinger@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-210 Phone: (562) 985-2196

Professor Chair, Jewish Studies Program Modern Europe, World, Jewish Studies (modern Jewish history, Holocaust, memory, historiography)

 

I. Bolaños, Ph.D. 
Email:
Isacar.Bolanos@csulb.edu
Office:               Phone:  

Assistant
Professor
 

 

P. Cleary, Ph.D.
Email: Patricia.Cleary@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 212 Phone: (562) 985 – 4419

Professor United States (Revolution, early America) None.

K. Curtis, Ph.D.
Email: Kenneth.Curtis@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-224 Phone: (562) 985-2401

Professor Africa, Comparative World  

J. Dabel, Ph.D.
Email: Jane.Dabel@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-202 Phone: (562) 985-2408

Professor Editor, The History Teacher Undergraduate Advisor  

None (sabatical S22)

J. Gomer, Ph.D.
Email: Justin.Gomer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-105A Phone: (562) 985-5090

Associate Professor United States, American Studies (African American Studies, race and cultural theory)  

A. Hawk, Ph.D.
Email: Angela.Hawk@csulb.edu
Office: n/a  Phone: n/a

Lecturer U.S. and World History, California History, History of Medicine and Mental Health
 

A. Igmen, Ph.D. Email: ali.igmen@csulb.edu Office: FO2-116 Phone: (562) 985-8765

Professor Undergraduate Advisor Director, Oral History Program Central Asia, Russia, Middle East, World (theater, cultural)

 

A. Jenks, Ph.D.
Email: andrew.jenks@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-207 Phone: (562) 985-8759

Professor Modern Europe, Russia (politics, technology, environment)  

R.S. Judge, Ph.D. 
Email: Rajbir.Judge@csulb.edu
Office:   Phone:   

Assistant
Professor

   

M. Kelleher, Ph.D.
Email: m.kelleher@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-120  Phone: (562) 985-4462

Professor Medieval Europe (women & gender, medieval Spain, law and legal culture, Mediterranean encounters)  

M. Kuo, Ph.D.
Email: margaret.kuo@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-215  Phone:(562) 985-4426

Professor Asia (modern China)

 

M. Larsen, Ph.D

email: mik.larsen@csulb.edu

Office: FO2-108 Phone: (562) 985-4612

Professor Ancient Rome: social and cultural history, social mobility, rhetoric, religion  

J. Lawler
Email: Jeffrey.Lawler@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-218   Phone: (562) 985-4420

Lecturer United States: The American West, Culture of games and computing technology  

G. Li, Ph.D.
Email: GT.Li@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-220   Phone: (562) 985-4465

Professor Asia (Late Imperial China, family & gender, migration & social mobility)  

E. Luhr, Ph.D.
Email: Eileen.Luhr@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-122   Phone: (562) 985-4511

 

Professor Advisor, Social Science Credential Program United States (modern/contemporary U.S., politics, religion, cultural)

 

B. Mizelle, Ph.D.
Email: Brett.Mizelle@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-109   Phone: (562) 985-4424

Professor Director, American Studies United States, American studies (cultural, Early Republic and Antebellum, human-animal relationships, nature/culture)  

C. Murdock, Ph.D.
Email: C.Murdock@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-203   Phone: (562) 985-2601

Professor Graduate Advisor Modern Europe, Central & Eastern Europe, Germany (borderlands, social, cultural, transnational)

 

U. Piña, Ph.D.
Email:  Ulices.Pina@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-112  Phone: (562) 985-4426

Assistant Professor Modern Latin America, Mexico  

C. Ponce de Leon, Ph.D.
Email: Charles.Poncedeleon@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-214   Phone: (562) 985-4425

Professor United States, American Studies (20th c. Cultural and Intellectual, Mass Media)  

N. Quam-Wickham,
Ph.D.
Email: Nancy.Quam-Wickham@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-208   Phone: (562) 985-4449

Professor United States (Western)  

S. Schrank, Ph.D.
Email: Sarah.Schrank@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-204   Phone: (562) 985-2293

Professor United States (urban, public art, culture, women, California)  
D. Shafer, Ph.D.
Email: david.shafer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-102   Phone: (562) 985-4431
Professor Chair, Department of History Modern Europe (France, revolutions, cultural)  

P. Sharma Ph.D.
Email: Preeti.Sharma@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-110   Phone: (562) 985-5428

Assistant Professor    

D. Sheridan, Ph.D.
Email: David.Sheridan@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-118   Phone: (562) 985-4458

Lecturer Modern Europe (Britain, gender, music, culture)

 

S. Smith
Email: sean.smith@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-212   Phone: (562) 985-4419

 Lecturer  United States (19th c. American West, social & cultural)

 

M. Takeuchi, Ph.D.
Email: Michiko.Takeuchi@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-114   Phone: (562) 985-4440

Associate Professor Japan (U.S.-Japan relations, women, sexuality)  

H. Wilford, Ph.D.
Email: hugh.wilford@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-216   Phone: (562) 985-4422

Professor United States (20th c., intellectual & diplomatic)  

Part-Time Faculty

Professor Name Professor Title Professor Interests Office Hours

G. Beirich
Email: Gregory.Beirich@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-118   Phone: (562) 985-4431 (dept. office)

Lecturer Medieval Europe (intellectual & religious, monasticism & heresy)  

M. Berkley
Email: Matt.Berkley@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-201   Phone: N/a

Lecturer    

D. Binkiewicz
Email: Donna.Binkiewicz@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-107   Phone: (562) 985-4423

Lecturer United States (recent, labor, immigration, & culture)

 

D. Bolelli
Email: bodhi1974@yahoo.com
Office: FO3-306   Phone: n/a

Lecturer United States, Ancient Rome, Native American History, History of World Religions  

N. Cates
Email: Neal.Cates@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-201   Phone: (562) 985-4423

Lecturer History education in secondary schools, World History, Globalizing US History  

C.
Email:  christopher.farrish@csulb.edu
Office:  n/a    Phone:  n/a

Lecturer    

K. Flach 
Email: Kate.Flach@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-224   Phone: (562) 985-2401

Lecturer Modern U.S. History (media, race, gender, social movements, education)  

A. Fogleman
Email: Andrew.Fogleman@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-214   Phone: (562) 985-4425

Lecturer  Medieval Europe (Medicine, Religious Visionaries, Universities)  

S. Gonzalez-Doo
Email: Stephanie.GonzalezDoo@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-216   Phone: (562) 985-4422

Lecturer United States and World (20th c., Cold War, U.S.-Latin America, Migration, Revolutions, Decolonization)  

G. Hamilton
Email: Gail.Hamilton@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-117   Phone: n/a

Lecturer    

H. Hernandez
Email: Holly.Hernandez@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-113   Phone: (562) 985-4429

Lecturer    

B. Huntsinger
Email: Ben.Huntsinger@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-117   Phone: (562) 985-4428

 Lecturer History Education, Development of reading and writing literacy, Civic Education  
L. Mehlbrech Email: Linda.Mehlbrech@csulb.edu Office: FO2- Phone: (562) 985-4428   Lecturer    

R. Morris
Email: Racheli.Morris@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-210   Phone: (562) 985-2196

 Lecturer    

B. O’Neil, Ph.D.
Email: Brian.Oneil@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-111   Phone: (562) 985-4410

Lecturer United States (foreign relations, U.S.-Latin America, WWII, Cold War & Vietnam, immigration, CA history)

 

C. Parker
Email: Caitlin.Parker@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-216   Phone: (562) 985-4422

 Lecturer  US History (Post-1945, Political, Urban, and Race/Ethnicity)  

R Schraff
Email: rob.schraff@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-108    Phone: (562) 985-4420 

Lecturer    

A. Striegl
Email: Anton.Striegl@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-122   Phone: n/a

 Lecturer    

A. Wemmer
Email: Adam.Wemmer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-117   Phone: (562) 985-4428

 Lecturer History Education, Development of reading and writing literacy, Civic Education

 

E. Wilkinson
Email:  T.Wilkinson@csulb.edu
Office:  n/a    Phone:  n/a

Lecturer