Faculty

Faculty

Photograph Information

Dr. Kyle Banick
Lecturer (PhD, University of California Irvine)

  • Areas of Specialization: Phenomenology, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophical Logic
  • Office: MHB–910
  • Phone: 562–985–4342
  • E-mail: kyle.banick@csulb.edu
  • website

Dr. Patrick Dieveney
Associate Professor (Ph.D, University of Arizona)

  • Areas of Specialization: Metaphysics, Philosophical Logic, Philosophy of Mathematics
  • Office: MHB–901
  • Phone: 562–985–4345
  • E-mail: patrick.dieveney@csulb.edu

Dr. Marie Jayasekera
Lecturer (PhD, University of Michigan)

  • Areas of Specialization: History of Early Modern Philosophy, Moral Psychology, Free Will
  • Office: MHB–903
  • Phone: 562–985–4331
  • E-mailmyjayasekera@gmail.com
  • website

Dr. Erick Jiménez
Lecturer (PhD, New School for Social Research)

  • Areas of Specialization: Ancient Philosophy (esp. Aristotle)
  • Office: MHB–905
  • Phone: 562–985–4346
  • E-mail: erick.jimenez@csulb.edu

Dr. Keith Kaiser
Lecturer (PhD, University of California Los Angeles)

  • Areas of Specialization: Applied Metaphysics
  • Office: MHB–910
  • Phone: 562–985–4342
  • E-mail: keith.kaiser@csulb.edu

Dr. Alysha Kassam
Lecturer (PhD, University of California Irvine LPS)

  • Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Science, Logic, Ethics, Social Philosophy, Political Philosophy
  • Office: MHB–805
  • Phone: 562–985–1750
  • E-mail: akassam@uci.edu
  • website

Dr. Cami Koepke
Lecturer (PhD, University of California San Diego)

  • Areas of Specialization: Moral Psychology, Ethics, Bioethics
  • Office: MHB–805
  • Phone: 562–985–1750
  • E-mail: cami.koepke@csulb.edu

Dr. Nick Laskowski
Assistant Professor (PhD, University of Southern California)

Michael Lara
Lecturer (MA, California State University Long Beach)

  • Areas of Interest: Epistemology
  • Office: MHB–805
  • Phone: 562–985–1750
  • E-mail: michael.lara@csulb.edu
Dr. Larry Nolan

Dr. Lawrence Nolan
Professor (Ph.D, University of California Irvine)

  • Areas of Specialization: History of Early Modern Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Medieval Philosophy
  • Office: MHB–913
  • Phone: 562–985–4335
  • E-mail: lawrence.nolan@csulb.edu
Dr. Max Rosenkrantz

Dr. Max Rosenkrantz
Associate Professor (Ph.D, University of Texas Austin)
Director of Honors Program
Graduate Advisor
SPA Faculty Liaison

  • Areas of Specialization: History of Analytic Philosophy, Marxist Theory
  • Office: MHB–902
  • Phone: 562–985–4258
  • E-mail: max.rosenkrantz@csulb.edu

Dr. Amanda Trefethen
Lecturer (J.D, University of San Diego; Ph.D, University of California Irvine)

Amy Umaña
Lecturer (MA, California State University Long Beach)

  • Areas of Interest: History of Ancient Philosophy, History of Early Modern Philosophy, Marx, Applied Metaphysics
  • Office: MHB–905
  • Phone: 562–985–4346
  • E-mail: amy.hadley.umana@gmail.com
Dr. Charles Wallis

Dr. Charles Wallis
Professor (Ph.D, University of Minnesota)

  • Areas of Specialization: Epistemology, Philosophy of Cognitive Science
  • Office: MHB–908
  • Phone: 562–985–5344
  • E-mail: charles.wallis@csulb.edu

Department Chair
Dr. Nell Wieland

Professor (Ph.D, University of California San Diego)
Undergraduate Advisor

  • Areas of Specialization: Social Philosophy, Philosophy of Language, Applied Metaphysics
  • Office: MHB–906
  • Phone: 562–985–4331
  • E-mail: nellie.wieland@csulb.edu
  • website

Dr. Cory Wright
Professor (Ph.D, University of California San Diego)

  • Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Science, Cognitive Science, Philosophy of Psychology, Metaphysics
  • Office: MHB–909
  • Phone: 562–985–2736
  • E-mail: cory.wright@csulb.edu
  • website
Dr. Wayne Wright

Dr. Wayne Wright
Professor (Ph.D, Temple University)

  • Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Psychology, Philosophy of Mind
  • Office: MHB–911
  • Phone: 562–985–4330
  • E-mail: wayne.wright@csulb.edu
  • website

Tiffany Zhu
Lecturer (ABD, University of California Irvine)

  • Areas of Interest: Epistemology, Social Philosophy
  • Office: MHB–905
  • Phone: 562–985–4346
  • E-mail: tiffany.zhu@csulb.edu