Faculty

Faculty

Photograph Information
Dr. Kyle Banick
Lecturer (PhD, University of California Irvine)

  • Areas of Specialization: Phenomenology, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophical Logic
  • Office: MHB–910
  • Phone: 562–985–4342
  • E-mail: kyle.banick@csulb.edu
  • website
Paul Burger
Lecturer (MA, California State University Long Beach)

  • Areas of Interest: Ethics, Anthropology
  • Office: MHB–805
  • Phone: 562–985–1750
  • E-mail: paul.burger@csulb.edu
Joel Chandler
Lecturer (MA, California State University Los Angeles)

  • Areas of Interest: Virtue Ethics, Pragmatism, Existential Hermeneutics (esp. Heidegger)
  • Office: MHB–917
  • Phone: 562–985–4331
  • E-mail: joel.chandler5@calstatela.edu
Dr. Patrick Dieveney
Associate Professor (Ph.D, University of Arizona)

  • Areas of Specialization: Metaphysics, Philosophical Logic, Philosophy of Mathematics
  • Office: MHB–901
  • Phone: 562–985–4345
  • E-mail: patrick.dieveney@csulb.edu
Dr. Marie Jayasekera
Lecturer (PhD, University of Michigan)

  • Areas of Specialization: History of Early Modern Philosophy, Moral Psychology, Free Will
  • Office: MHB–903
  • Phone: 562–985–4331
  • E-mailmyjayasekera@gmail.com
  • website
Dr. Christa Johnson [on leave AY20–21]
Assistant Professor (PhD, Ohio State University)

Dr. Keith Kaiser
Lecturer (PhD, University of California Los Angeles)

  • Areas of Specialization: Applied Metaphysics
  • Office: MHB–910
  • Phone: 562–985–4342
  • E-mail: keith.kaiser@csulb.edu
Alysha Kassam
Lecturer (ABD, University of California Irvine LPS)

  • Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Science, Logic, Ethics, Social Philosophy, Political Philosophy
  • Office: tbd
  • Phone: 562–985–4331
  • E-mail: akassam@uci.edu
Cami Koepke
Lecturer (ABD, University of California San Diego)

  • Areas of Specialization: Moral Psychology, Ethics, Bioethics
  • Office: tbd
  • Phone: 562–985–4331
  • E-mail: ckoepke@ucsd.edu
Nick Laskowski Dr. N. G. Laskowski
Assistant Professor (PhD, University of Southern California)

  • Areas of Specialization: Ethics, Metaethics, Philosophy of Mind
  • Office: MHB–912
  • Phone: 562–985–5448
  • E-mail: nicholas.laskowski@csulb.edu
Dr. Larry Nolan Dr. Lawrence Nolan
Professor (Ph.D, University of California Irvine)

  • Areas of Specialization: History of Early Modern Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Medieval Philosophy
  • Office: MHB–913
  • Phone: 562–985–4335
  • E-mail: lawrence.nolan@csulb.edu
Dr. Max Rosenkrantz Dr. Max Rosenkrantz
Associate Professor (Ph.D, University of Texas Austin)
Director of Honors Program

  • Areas of Specialization: History of Analytic Philosophy, Marxist Theory
  • Office: MHB–902
  • Phone: 562–985–4258
  • E-mail: max.rosenkrantz@csulb.edu
Dr. Amanda Trefethen
Lecturer (J.D, University of San Diego; Ph.D, University of California Irvine)

Dr. Charles Wallis Dr. Charles Wallis
Professor (Ph.D, University of Minnesota)

  • Areas of Specialization: Epistemology, Philosophy of Cognitive Science
  • Office: MHB–908
  • Phone: 562–985–5344
  • E-mail: charles.wallis@csulb.edu
Dr. Nellie Wieland
Professor (Ph.D, University of California San Diego)
Department Chairperson
Undergraduate Advisor

  • Areas of Specialization: Social Philosophy, Philosophy of Language, Applied Metaphysics
  • Office: MHB–905
  • Phone: 562–985–4346
  • E-mail: nellie.wieland@csulb.edu
  • website
Dr. Cory Wright
Professor (Ph.D, University of California San Diego)
Graduate Advisor
CLA Director of Graduate Studies

  • Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Science, Cognitive Science, Philosophy of Psychology, Philosophy of Language
  • Office: MHB–909
  • Phone: 562–985–2736
  • E-mail: http://chxo.com/labelgen/labelgen.php?textval=cory.wright%40zoho.com&font=COUR.TTF&size=12&bgcolor=%23ffffff&textcolor=%23000000&submit=create+image
  • website
Dr. Wayne Wright Dr. Wayne Wright
Professor (Ph.D, Temple University)

  • Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Psychology, Philosophy of Mind
  • Office: MHB–911
  • Phone: 562–985–4330
  • E-mail: wayne.wright@csulb.edu
  • website