Political Science at CSULB offers students the foundational knowledge and skills essential to understand and engage issues relevant to our common political life today. 

The Department provides a supportive academic community through dedicated faculty and staff, numerous programs and clubs, and facilitating connections to the alumni and resources students need to succeed in college and beyond.

During the 2022-23 academic year, we continue to embrace being back on campus with a combination of enthusiasm and responsibility.  We are doing all we can to keep ourselves, our loved ones, and our department and campus community as safe and healthy as possible by following the required and suggested campus guidelines and policies.

POSC faculty are committed to the highest standards of pedagogy, providing engaging, stimulating, rigorous, and meaningful educational experiences. We recognize potential challenges students may face, and work to be flexible and understanding.  All course expectations and requirements will be clearly conveyed by the instructor, who will maintain close and regular contact with their students. We will do our best to ensure that you have all the necessary tools to succeed! 

Click through the pages on our site to learn more about our programs and opportunities, gain help with advising, become acquainted with our faculty, staff, students and alumni, and much more!  Connect with us on social media (links to the right) to be part of our work– and ensure you do not miss a thing.

The main department office (SPA-257) is open four days a week (currently, Monday-Thursday 8:30am-4:30pm).  If we are not in when you stop by, please reach out via email and we will be glad to follow up with you in whatever form is needed.  General contact information is on the right sidebar, and specific email addresses are below.

Department Chair: Dr. Amy Cabrera Rasmussen (Amy.Rasmussen@csulb.edu)

Department Coordinator: Ty Yim (Socheatey.Yim@csulb.edu)

Department Administrative Assistant: Julia Castro (Julia.Castro@csulb.edu)

Important Graduate Program Information

The applications for the MA in Political Science are due February 15 (accepted applicants will begin the program in Fall semester). Application materials are submitted electronically to Cal State Apply. Need further information on the program? See https://cla.csulb.edu/departments/polisci/master-of-arts/admissionapplication-requirements/ or contact Dr. Goldstein (cora.goldstein@csulb.edu).