Spanish Program Faculty

Spanish Program Faculty

Faculty Information Faculty Photo

Jeannette Acevedo Rivera, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Spanish

Ph.D. in Romance Studies, Duke University, 2014

Nineteenth and twentieth-century Spanish and French literature, research focusing on the intersection of gender, material culture, and notions of writing and collection.

Email: Jeannette.AcevedoRivera@csulb.edu

Webpage

AcevedoRiveraProfilePicture2

María M. Carreira, Ph.D.

Professor of Spanish

Ph.D. in Linguistics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1990

Phonology, Spanish in the US, Sociolinguistics, Heritage languages, Educational linguistics.

Email: Maria.Carreira@csulb.edu

Webpage

Alicia del Campo, Ph.D.

Professor of Spanish

Spanish Program Director

Ph.D. University of Califorina, Irvine, 1998

Latin American Literature and Culture, Latin American Theater, Cultural Studies in Latin America, Literature and Human Rights, Memory, Politics and Theatre.

Email: Alicia.delCampo@csulb.edu

Bonnie Gasior, Ph.D.

Professor of Spanish

Interim Director University Honors Program

Ph.D. Purdue University, 2001

Early Modern Spain and Colonial Spanish America (subaltern studies, travel literature, theater.

Email: Bonnie.Gasior@csulb.edu

Webpage

Daniel Herrera Cepero, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Spanish

Spanish Graduate Advisor

Ph.D. University of California at Davis, 2014

20th century avant-garde poetry and film.

Email: Daniel.HerreraCepero@csulb.edu

Webpage

Claire Martin, Ph.D.

Professor of Spanish

Ph.D. Yale University, 1988

Ninetenth-century Latin American studies, gender studies, contemporary Argentinean literature.

Email: Claire.Martin@csulb.edu

Webpage

Spanish Program Adjunct Faculty

Adjunct Faculty Information Adjunct Faculty Photo

Patricia Amezcua

Lecturer of Spanish

M.A. California State University, Long Beach, 2005

Email: Patricia.Amezcua@csulb.edu

 

Patricia Arteaga

Lecturer of Spanish

M.A. California State University, Long Beach, 2002

Email: Patricia.Arteaga@csulb.edu

 

Maria Nelly Goswitz, Ph.D.

Lecturer of Spanish

Ph.D. Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia (Madrid, Spain), 2018

Nineteenth Century Latin American Women Writers with emphasis in the
essay genre, the literary salons and tertulias and the Pan-Hispanic Women Networking.

Co-founder and Co-editor of  Escritoras Latinoamericanas del Diecinueve: www.eladd.org

Email: Maria.Goswitz@csulb.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Jessica Powell, Ph.D.

Lecturer of Spanish

Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara, 2006

Email: Jessica.Powell@csulb.edu

 

Daniela Suarez, Ph.D.

Lecturer of Spanish

Ph.D. University of California, Davis, 2018

Email: Daniela.Suarez@csulb.edu

 

Spanish Program Teaching Associates

Teaching Associate Information Teaching Associate Photo

Eliecer Almaguer

Teaching Associate of Spanish

Email: Eliecer.Almaguer-sa@csulb.edu

 

Erika Cardenas

Teaching Associate of Spanish

Email: Erika.Cardenas@student.csulb.edu

 

Monica Chacon Velasquez

Teaching Associate of Spanish

Email: Monica.ChaconVelasquez-sa@csulb.edu

 

Lidia Grajeda Pulido

Teaching Associate of Spanish

Email: Lidia.GrajedaPulido-sa@csulb.edu

 

Gabriela Leon

Teaching Associate of Spanish

Email: Gabriela.Leon01@student.csulb.edu

 

Alfa Lopez

Teaching Associate of Spanish

Email: Alfa.Lopez@student.csulb.edu

 

Reyna Luis

Teaching Associate of Spanish

Email: Reyna.Luis-sa@csulb.edu

 

Yan Hua Situ Zhou

Teaching Associate of Spanish

Email: YanHua.SituZhou01@student.csulb.edu

 

Gail Smith

Teaching Associate of Spanish

Email: Gail.Smith01@student.csulb.edu

 

Francisco Soto Franco

Teaching Associate of Spanish

Email: Francisco.SotoFranco-sa@csulb.edu

 

Jocelyn Torres

Teaching Associate of Spanish

Email: Jocelyn.Torres-sa@csulb.edu