Ninth Annual American Collegiate Moot Court Association (ACMA) Western Regional Competition

December 9, 2010

California State University, Long Beach hosted the ninth annual American Collegiate Moot Court Association (ACMA) Western Regional competition on Friday and Saturday, December 3rd and 4th. This regional was the largest ever. Thirty-eight teams from 11 colleges and universities throughout the region, including five teams from CSULB, competed.

Despite a few obstacles, including unfavorable weather conditions and a potential campus-wide evacuation owing to a power outage, the competition continued. Responding to the possibility of evacuation, Nina Flores, a CSULB moot court graduate assistant, said, “We’re ignoring them. The students have worked so hard for this. It’s important that we finish the regional competition today.”

This year’s final four was extremely diverse, including teams from Patrick Henry College (PHC), CSULB, College of the Holy Cross, and CSU Fullerton. Among the semi-finalists were CSULB’s Jilian Ewan and Aaron Sibley (17th seed).

The Sweet 16 included teams from 7 of the 11 schools: Carroll College, CSU Fresno, CSU Fullerton, Chapman University, PHC, College of the Holy Cross, and CSULB. Teams from Drake University, Mount St. Mary’s University, Claremont McKena College, and Weber State University competed as well. All five of CSULB’s teams advanced to the Sweet 16, and three advanced to the round of eight teams.

CSULB students Andrew Klein, Alexandra Lohman, and Timothy Appelbaum won orator awards. Professor Lewis Ringel, Director of CSULB’s moot court program, expects to have four automatic bids to nationals.

CSULB had the honor of arguing before former California Governor and Attorney General George Deukmejian.