A Year in Review: CSULB MUN Program in 2023 Dr. Ezgi Yildiz, the Director of the MUN Program

The CSULB Model UN Program hit the ground running in Spring 2023 thanks to our close collaboration with Professor Alex Lohman (Interim Director of the MUN Program). In addition to establishing a new leadership, the club has rebranded itself and recruited new members at the Week of Welcome and beyond. Our leadership included Mikayla Browne (President), Grant Latour (Vice President), Genesis Chacon (Secretary), and Dennis Brownlee (Treasurer). We dedicated our semester to several conference preparation workshops as well as in-person conferences at Riverside City College (IECMUN) in March and in San Francisco (MUN of the Far West) in April 2023.

At IECMUN, the following students represented the CSULB MUN program at the Committee of Population and Development: Dennis Brownlee and Matthew Wong (Costa Rica), Kyle Smith and Joshua Mims (Latvia), Blake Maese and Evan Stein (Honduras), Genesis Chacon and Sarah Arya (Colombia). In addition, Mikayla Browne and Grant Latour represented Malta at the Security Council. Mikayla and Grant were awarded recognition as the best delegates by their peers and the conference organizers. Although EICMUN was the first-ever MUN experience for quite a few of our students, they impressed everyone with their extensive knowledge of International Law, diplomatic skills, and poise.

At the MUNFW, we represented Latvia and Ireland. We undertook a serious conference preparation "boot camp" over the spring break. Our delegates dedicated their break to preparing conference documents, which were reviewed by Sarah Arya (Director of Research and Writing) and me. In addition, Grant Latour and Ethan Bray (Directors of Conference Skills), as veteran MUN participants, imparted invaluable conference skills through in-person workshops. Finally, we had a preparation session with the Honorary Consul of Latvia, Laura Ramanis, who offered us tips and insights to represent Latvia in the best way possible.

CSULB Delegates	UN Committee	Representing
Ethan Bray and Dennis Brownlee	UN General Assembly	Ireland
Grant Latour	International Atomic Energy Agency	Ireland
Mikayla Browne and Sarah Arya	UN General Assembly	Latvia
Matthew Wong and Joshua Mims	Committee on Science and Technology	Latvia
Kyle Smith and Evan Stein	Third Committee	Latvia
Blake Maese	World Press	Latvia

The following students represented the CSULB at the MUNFW:

Mikayla Browne and Sarah Arya, representing Latvia in the UN General Assembly, received the Slanzcka Achievement Certificate (best position paper award), and they were also elected to serve as the rapporteurs of their committee (peer award given to an outstanding delegation). In addition, the Third Committee, which included members of our Latvian delegation, Kyle Smith and Evan Stein, received an award for being the most cooperative committee.

Last but not least, the CSULB MUN program attended R'MUN, organized by UC Riverside, on May 20, 2023. We sent a delegation of four students, namely Grant Latour, Matthew Wong, Blake Maese, and Joshua Mims. Grant Latour, representing Russia at the Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice (CCPCJ), received the Best Delegate Award.

In Fall 2023, the CSULB MUN program reached new heights. We increased our membership through promotional activities during the Week of Welcome and CLA Day. As our numbers increased, we dedicated more time and energy to training our new members and improving their research, writing, and speaking skills. We also provided them with opportunities to test these skills and have an immersive experience at several MUN conferences.

The first conference of the semester was Trojan MUN, which was organized by USC. The conference took place in Los Angeles between 19 and 22 October. We sent our largest delegation yet to the Trojan MUN conference, which served as the first MUN conference for many of our new recruits. Our delegation of 24 students attended the 6th Committee (Legal) of the UN and the Organization for Security and Cooperation (OSCE). Below is a list of countries that our students represented at this conference:

CSULB Delegates	Committee	Representing
Grant Latour and Michael Harris	6th Committee (UN)	China
Maxwell Barrera and Courteney King	6th Committee (UN)	Angola
Ghost Asuncion and Ryan Chu	6th Committee (UN)	Ecuador
Ryan McGuirk and Mikayla Browne	6th Committee (UN)	Ireland
Josh Sheppard	6th Committee (UN)	Jordan
Joshua Mims and Ashton Ramos	6th Committee (UN)	Switzerland
Kyle Smith and Genesis Chacon	6th Committee (UN)	Indonesia
Evan Stein and Rick Dorrhauer	6th Committee (UN)	Portugal
Travis Gillette and Cristofer Serrano	6th Committee (UN)	Hungary
Jenny Adame Lazaro and Adaugo Asinugo	6th Committee (UN)	Morocco
Dennis Brownlee and Aivy To	6th Committee (UN)	Syria
Sarah Arya	OSCE	Luxembourg
Prince Plotena	OSCE	Armenia
Matthew Wong	OSCE	Uzbekistan

We then attended a practice conference at Riverside City College on 4 November. This practice conference helped our delegation to test their skills. We had a delegation of 9 students, namely Dennis Brownlee, Grant Latour, Evan Stein, Aivy To, Ashton Ramos, Joshua Mims, Josh Sheppard, Matthew Wong, and Daniel Stea.

Then came the moment we were all waiting for: the NMUN Conference in DC. This was certainly the highlight of the semester, if not the year. We brought a very competitive team to represent the Republic of Cuba in DC composed of the following names: Travis Gillette and Joshua Mims (UN Development Program), Dennis Brownlee and Audugo Asinugo (UN General Assembly), Evan

Stein and Rick Dorrhauer (Third Committee), Kyle Smith and Matthew Wong (Commission on Population and Development) Grant Latour and Michael Harris (Food and Agriculture Organization), Mikayla Browne and Sarah Arya (UN Environmental Assembly).

We received multiple awards at our first-ever national conference in DC. Three of our double delegates received Outstanding Position Paper Awards. Dennis Brownlee and Audugo Asinugo for their work at the UN General Assembly; Evan Stein and Rick Dorrhauer for the Third Committee; and Mikayla Browne and Sarah Arya for the UN Environmental Assembly. Last but not least, our entire delegation of Cuba received the Honorable Mention Award.

We look forward to continuing this successful streak in the semesters to come!

Ezgi Yildiz, PhD Director of Model United Nations Program Assistant Professor of International Relations Department of Political Science California State University, Long Beach