Faculty and Staff

Faculty and Staff

Professor Name and Information   Professor Credentials

Jessica Brooks, M.A.
Lecturer in Comparative Literature and Classics
jessica.brooks@csulb.edu 
(562) 985-4248
Office: MHB 508

M.A. Archaeology, Cotsen Institute of Archaeology, UCLA
Post-Baccalaureate in Classics, UCLA
B.A. Anthropology, UCLA summa cum laude

Interests: Aegean Bronze Age and Classical Archaeology, women in the ancient world, mortuary and ritual analysis, and world mythology

Kathryn Chew, Ph.D.
Professor of Classics and Religious Studies
Advisor, Latin Teaching Credential
Advisor, CWL

Director, CWL
kathryn.chew@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5810
Office: MHB 606

Ph.D. Classics, UCLA
M.A. Classics, UCLA
B.A. Classics, UC Irvine

Interests: Greek and Latin Novels, Greek Literature, the Hellenistic Period, Late Antiquity, Hagiography, Sanskrit Literature, Latin Teacher Preparation

Nancy Comito
Office Manager
nancy.comito@csulb.edu
(562) 985-4239
Office: MHB 515

   

Pravina Cooper, Ph.D.
Lecturer in Comparative Literature
pravina.cooper@csulb.edu
(562) 985-4241
Office: MHB 611

Ph.D. Comparative World Literature, UCLA
M.A. Comparative World Literature, UCLA
M.A. History, Mumbai University
B.A. British and Continental Philosophy

Interests: World Cinemas, Transnational Literatures, Genre, Literary Theory, British and French Modernisms

F. Elizabeth Dahab, Ph.D.
Professor of Comparative Literature
elizabeth.dahab@csulb.edu
(562) 985-1368
Office: MHB 608

CWL Advisor

Doctorat, Comparative Literature, Université de Paris-IV, Sorbonne
M.A. Educational Psychology, University of Alberta
Professional Diploma After Degree (for teaching French), University of Alberta (Canada)
B.A. Psychology, McGill University (Canada)

Interests: Post-colonial Literature, Cultural Theory, Middle Eastern Literature, Interdisciplinary Studies, 19th Century French Literature, Exilic Francophone Literatures in Canada/Québec (More)

Letitia Deon, M.A., M.F.A.
Lecturer in Comparative Literature
letitia.deon@csulb.edu

(562) 985-1589

Office: MHB 513

M.F.A. Creative Writing, emphasis in poetry, CSULB
M.A. English, emphasis in British Literature, CSULB
B.A. English, CSULB

Interests: Gender Studies, Cultural Studies, British Literature, Poetics / Poetry and the Self / Confessional Poetry / Stand up Poetry, Identity Theory, Comedy, Comics and Graphic Novels

Thomas Haeussler, M.A.
Lecturer in Comparative Literature
(562) 985-8660

Office: MHB 605

 

M.A. Comparative Literature, UCLA

Crystal Yin Lie, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature
crystal.lie@csulb.edu
(562) 985-4248

Office: MHB 508

Ph.D. English Language and Literature, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
M.A. English Language and Literature, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
M.A. Humanities, University of Chicago
B.A. English, UCLA

Interests: Disability Studies, Health Humanities, Contemporary Literature and Life Writing, Graphic Narrative, Visual Culture

Katherine McLoone, Ph.D.
Lecturer in Comparative Literature
katherine.mcloone@csulb.edu
Office: MHB 701

Ph.D. Comparative Literature, UCLA
M.A. Humanities, University of Chicago
B.A. Comparative Literature, UC Berkeley

Interests: Medieval Literature, Disability Studies, Popular Culture Studies, especially television and fandom

Levon Parseghian, M.A.
Lecturer in Comparative Literature
levon.parseghian@csulb.edu
Office: MHB 513

M.A. English, CSULB
B.A. Comparative World Literature and Philosophy, CSULB

Interests: Colonial and postcolonial literary theory, Marxist literary criticism, Comedy of the diaspora, Identity and the self in motion pictures

Christopher Shaw, Ph.D.
Lecturer in Comparative Literature
christopher.shaw@csulb.edu
Office: MHB 701

Ph.D. Comparative Literature, UCLA
B.A. Literature and Ethnic Studies, UC San Diego

Interests: Latin American, Ethnic American, and postcolonial literatures and cultures; conceptions of identity and difference in neurodiverse, popular, and digital contexts

Vlatka Velcic, Ph.D.
Professor of Comparative Literature vlatka.velcic@csulb.edu
(562) 985-1815

Office: MHB 609

 

Ph.D. Comparative Literature, UCLA
M.A. Comparative Literature, UCLA
B.A. Comparative Literature and English, University of Zagreb

Interests: Cultural Studies, Post-colonial Literature, 20th Century Literature, East European Literature

Current Adjunct Faculty

Professor Name and Email                                Room Number and Phone Number

Nicolas Bordage, Ph.D. (University of Miami)
Romance Studies
nicolas.bordage@csulb.edu

 

 

Kelsey Bright, M.A.
Comparative Literature
kelsey.bright
@csulb.edu

MHB 513

Amy Desuza-Riehm, M.A.
Comparative Literature
amy.desuza-riehm@csulb.edu

MHB 701

Sienna Hopkins, Ph.D. (UCLA)
Italian Literature
sienna.hopkins@csulb.edu

 

 

Nancy Meyer, Ph.D. (Claremont)
Religious Studies
nancy.meyer@csulb.edu

 

 

Jesse O’Dell, Ph.D. (UCLA)
Slavic, Eastern European and Eurasian Languages and Cultures
jesse.odell@csulb.edu

 

 

Daniela Suarez, Ph.D. (UC Davis)
Latin American Literatures and Cultures
daniela.suarez@csulb.edu
   

Emeriti Faculty

  • Alwin Baum
  • Frank Fata
  • J. Charles Jernigan

Congratulations

  • Carl Fisher, former chair, now at the Chancellor’s Office
  • Crystal Yin Lie, new hire in Disability Studies and Health Humanities, Fall 2020

In Memoriam