Advising and Tutoring

Advising and Tutoring

Graduate Advising

All questions about graduate programs of study and other advising-related issues in Philosophy should be directed to the Graduate Advisor. Please contact him for an appointment, or visit him during office hours:

Dr. Max Rosenkrantz
Office: MHB–902
SP22 Office Hours
: TuTh 12:30pm-2:00pm or by appointment
Phone
: 562–985–4258
E-mail: max.rosenkrantz@csulb.edu

Undergraduate Advising

As of FA14, undergraduate advising for the College of Liberal Arts is now centrally organized and performed by the ATLAS Network (562–985–7804), which is located in PH1–104. ATLAS primarily assists students with general advising issues: general education requirements, overall degree progress, double-majoring or enrollment in a minor, study abroad, the Writing Proficiency Exam (WPE), academic review and timely graduation, and other broad curricular matters.

Most questions should be handled by ATLAS advisors. For more narrowly questions about Philosophy that require a response from the Department Chairperson or Undergraduate Advisor, please contact her for an appointment, or visit him during office hours:

Dr. Nellie Wieland
Office: MHB–906
SP22 Office Hours: please e-mail for an appointment
Phone: 562–985–4346
E-mailnellie.wieland@csulb.edu

SP22 Graduate Assistants and Tutors

Each semester, the Department provides support to undergraduate students. Graduate assistants are assigned to a specific professor/course to provide assistance with classroom management, course organization and grading, and additional office hours. Graduate tutors hold extended office hours to help students in multiple sections or across multiple courses.

Graduate assistants and tutors normally hold their office hours in the department seminar room (MHB–915) unless specified otherwise. Please e-mail for an appointment; walk-ins are happily accepted. 

Student Information
Brandon Beller
Graduate Assistant

  • Location: MHB–915
  • SP22 Office Hours: Monday 1:00pm–2:00pm; Wednesday 10:00am–11:00am 
  • E-mail: brandon.beller01@student.csulb.edu
Kyle Bollin
Instructional Student Assistant

  • Location: MHB–915
  • SP22 Office Hours: n/a
  • E-mail: kyle.bollin@student.csulb.edu
Yahui Chen
Graduate Assistant

  • Location: MHB–915
  • SP22 Office Hours: Monday Wednesday Friday 1:00pm–3:00pm 
  • E-mail: yahui.chen01@student.csulb.edu
Tom Ho
Instructional Student Assistant

  • Location: MHB–915
  • SP22 Office Hours: by appointment
  • E-mail: tom.ho01@student.csulb.edu
Meghan Kuhl
Instructional Student Assistant

  • Location: via Zoom
  • SP22 Office Hours: Monday & Wednesday 3:30pm–4:30pm
  • E-mail: meghan.kuhl@student.csulb.edu
Pedro Rapallo Zubillaga
Graduate Assistant

  • Location: via Zoom
  • SP22 Office Hours: Tuesdays 4:00pm–5:00pm
  • E-mail: Pedro.RapalloZubillaga01@student.csulb.edu
Tanner Whitlow
Instructional Student Assistant

  • Location: via Zoom
  • SP22 Office Hours: Wednesdays 12:30pm–1:30pm 
  • E-mail: tanner.whitlow@student.csulb.edu
Ning Shao
Graduate Assistant

  • Location: via Zoom
  • SP22 Office Hours: Fridays 1:00pm–2:00pm
  • E-mail: ning.shao01@student.csulb.edu
Cody Spjut
Instructional Student Assistant

  • Location: MHB–915
  • SP22 Office Hours: n/a
  • E-mail: cody.spjut01@student.csulb.edu