Graduate Students

Graduate Students

 
Photograph Information
  Kayla Aceves

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of California San Diego (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests
  • E-mail
Lorenzo Alamillo

  • Degrees: BA in Computer Science, University of California Riverside (2019)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Technology, Artificial Intelligence, Philosophy of Mind, Logic, Causality
  • E-mail: lorenzo.alamillo@student.csulb.edu
Keilee Bessho

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of Redlands (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests: Metaphysics, History of Ancient Philosophy, Moral Psychology, Value Theory, Logic
  • E-mail: keilee.bessho01@student.csulb.edu
Kyle Bollin

  • Degrees: Honors BA in Philosophy, California State University Long Beach (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Law, Feminist Philosophy, Political Philosophy
  • E-mail: kyle.bollin@student.csulb.edu
Ian Browning

  • Degrees: BA in Film & Electronic Arts, California State University Long Beach (2018) 
  • Philosophical Interests: Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Film
  • E-mail: argent707@gmail.com
Megan Brubaker

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of California Santa Cruz (2016)
  • Philosophical Interests: Phenomenology and Existentialism (esp. Heidegger), Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Psychology
  • E-mail: megan.brubaker@student.csulb.edu
Josue Castillo

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of California Irvine (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests: Phenomenology, Feminist Philosophy, Social Philosophy, Philosophy of Mind
  • E-mail: josue.castillo01@student.csulb.edu
Joanne Dalby

  • Degrees: Honors BA in Philosophy, University of Oregon (2011)
  • Philosophical Interests: History of Early Modern Philosophy (esp. Descartes), History and Philosophy of Science, Epistemology (esp. Rationality, Skepticism), History of Ancient Philosophy (esp. Sextus Empiricus), History and Philosophy of Logic
  • E-mail: joanne.dalby@student.csulb.edu
Lissa Dechakul

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of California Riverside (2018)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Love, Feminist Philosophy, Gender and Sexuality, Ethics
  • E-mail: lidechakul@gmail.com
Alex Estevez

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, California State University Long Beach (2016)
  • Philosophical Interests: Ethics, Metaphysics, Pragmatism, Philosophy of Religion
  • E-mail: mauricioav10@gmail.com
Amy Harms

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy & BA in Business Management, Azusa Pacific University (2018)
  • Philosophical Interests: History of Ancient Philosophy (esp. Socrates), History of Early Modern Philosophy (esp. Descartes), Marx
  • E-mail: amy.harms@student.csulb.edu
  Sanam Hassani

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of Tehran (2018)
  • Philosophical Interests
  • E-mail
Miguel Hernandez

  • Degrees: Honors BA in English Literature, California State University Northridge (2017)
  • Philosophical Interests: Metaethics, Pragmatism (esp. Dewey and Rorty), Social Epistemology, Literature and Ethics, Political Philosophy
  • E-mail: miguel.hernandez01@student.csulb.edu
Shawn Hernandez

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of La Verne (2017)
  • Philosophical Interests:  Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, Epistemology, Philosophy of Science
  • E-mail: shawn.hernandez94@gmail.com
Tom Ho

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of Cincinnati (2007)
  • Philosophical Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Science, Ethics
  • E-mail: philosophytom@yahoo.com
Omar Hussein

  • Degrees: BA in English and MA in Teaching, University of Southern California (2007, 2008); MA in English Literature, California State University Long Beach (2016)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Logic, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Science, Metaphysics
  • E-mail: omar.hussein@csulb.edu
  Ryan Lam

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy & BA in Global Studies, Colby College (2018); MA in Bioethics, New York University (2019)
  • Philosophical Interests: Ethics (esp. Environmental Ethics), Social Philosophy
  • E-mail: ryan.lam01@student.csulb.edu
Michael Lara

  • Degrees: Honors BA in Philosophy, California State University Long Beach (2019)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Language, Aesthetics
  • E-mail: michael.lara@student.csulb.edu
Jeffrey Lee

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of California Los Angeles (2017)
  • Philosophical Interests: Epistemology, Ethics, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Religion
  • E-mailjefflee9810@yahoo.com
Jose Leiva

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, California State Polytechnic University Pomona (2009)
  • Philosophical Interests: History of Philosophy, Metaphysics, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Philosophical Theology, Metaphilosophy, Existentialism
  • E-mail: joseleiva21@yahoo.com
Daniel Luna

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy & BA in International Business, University of California San Diego (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests: History of Early Modern Philosophy (esp. Descartes), Epistemology
  • E-mail: dgluna11@gmail.com
Caitlin Mace

  • Degrees: BA in Psychology, Humboldt State University (2018)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Science (esp. Neuroscience), Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science, Pragmatism (esp. James)
  • E-mail: caitlin.mace@student.csulb.edu
Nikita Mandrychenko

  • Degrees: BS in Mathematics & BA in Philosophy, California State University Long Beach (2017)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Mathematics, Philosophy of Science
  • E-mail: nikitamand@yahoo.com
Jessica Manzo

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, California State University Bakersfield (2019)
  • Philosophical Interests: Ethics, Applied Ethics, Philosophy for Children, Social Philosophy (esp. Race, Class, Gender), Feminist Philosophy
  • E-mail: jessicaidk.8@gmail.com
Enoki Nguyen

  • Degrees: BBA in Marketing, Georgia State University (2011)
  • Philosophical Interests: Metaethics, Philosophy of Mind, Phenomenology
  • E-mail: enoki.nguyen@gmail.com
Nicholas.Perez Nicholas Perez

  • Degrees: BA in History, California State University Long Beach (2018)
  • Philosophical Interests: History of Philosophy (esp. Medieval), Philosophy of Religion, Metaphysics
  • E-mail: pereznicholas345@gmail.com
Reese Perez

  • Degrees: Honors BA in Philosophy, California State University Long Beach (2018)
  • Philosophical Interests: Ancient Greek Philosophy (esp. Stoicism), Metaphysics (esp. Determinism and Free Will)
  • E-mail: perez.reesej@gmail.com
David Ramirez-Ruz

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, California State University Long Beach (2019)
  • Philosophical Interests: Political Theory, Existentialism, Ethics, Critical Theory
  • E-mail: druz13579@gmail.com
Kevin Reyes

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, Connecticut College (2017)
  • Philosophical Interests: Existentialism, Ethics, Critical Theory, Feminist Philosophy
  • E-mail: kevin.reyes03@student.csulb.edu
James Reuter

  • Degrees: BA in History & Honors BA in Philosophy, Kalamazoo College (2017)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Social Science (esp. Psychology), Late Modern European Philosophy, Marx, Phenomenology, Aesthetics, Philosophy of Psychiatry
  • E-mail: james.reuter01@student.csulb.edu
Jonathan Reza

  • Degrees: Honors BA in Philosophy, University of Redlands (2018)
  • Philosophical Interests: Metaphysics (esp. Ontology), History of Early Modern Philosophy (esp. Leibniz), Philosophy of Religion, Nietzsche
  • E-mail: jonathan.reza.96@gmail.com
Ryan Shaver

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy & BA in Visual Arts, University of California San Diego (2014)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Cognitive Science (esp. Artificial Intelligence, Connectionism, Predictive Processing), Pragmatism
  • E-mail: ryan.shaver@student.csulb.edu
Daniel Sierra

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, California State University Los Angeles (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Language, Linguistics, History of Ancient Philosophy (esp. Plato), Logic, Epistemology, Metaphysics
  • E-mail: daniel.sierra01@student.csulb.edu
Jon Tryby Jon Tryby

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy & BA in Economics, California State University Long Beach (2013)
  • Philosophical Interests: Ethics, Metaphysics (esp. Possible Worlds), Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion (esp. Eastern)
  • E-mail: jonmtryby@hotmail.com
Tanner Whitlow

  • Degrees: Honors BA in Philosophy, California State University Long Beach (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests: Social Philosophy (esp. Gender/Sexuality), Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Mind
  • E-mail: tanner.whitlow@student.csulb.edu