Graduate Students

Graduate Students

 
Photograph Information

Lorenzo Alamillo

  • Degrees: BA in Computer Science, University of California Riverside (2019)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Psychiatry, Philosophy of Language (esp. Wittgenstein), Philosophy of Technology (esp. Artificial Intelligence), Applied Metaphysics (esp. Personhood)
  • E-mail: lorenzo.alamillo@student.csulb.edu

Angel Alaniz

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of California Irvine (2021)
  • Philosophical Interests: Phenomenology, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, Moral Psychology (esp. Well-being)
  • E-mail: angel00alaniz@gmail.com

Brandon Beller

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, Sonoma State University (2019)
  • Philosophical Interests: Social and Political Philosophy (esp. Marxist Theory), Philosophy of Law, Phenomenology, Ethics
  • E-mail: brandon.beller01@student.csulb.edu

Kyle Bollin

  • Degrees: Honors BA in Philosophy, California State University Long Beach (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests: Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law, Feminist Philosophy
  • E-mail: kyle.bollin@student.csulb.edu

Ian Browning

  • Degrees: BA in Film & Electronic Arts, California State University Long Beach (2018) 
  • Philosophical Interests: Political Philosophy, Moral Psychology (esp. Emotion), Philosophy of Film
  • E-mail: argent707@gmail.com

Andrew Cabrero

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of California Riverside (2019)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Mathematics, Logic, Applied Metaphysics (esp. Personhood), Political Philosophy
  • E-mail: andrew.cabrero01@student.csulb.edu

Henry Chen

Yahui Chen

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, Renmin University (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests: Normative Ethics (esp. Deontology), History of Early Modern Philosophy (esp. Kant), Epistemology, Moral Psychology
  • E-mail: yahui.chen01@student.csulb.edu

Victoria Cinquegrani

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy & BA in Public Health Policy, University of California Irvine (2022)
  • Philosophical Interests: Ethics, Philosophy of Law, Metaphysics
  • E-mail: victoria.cinquegrani01@student.csulb.edu

Yusaku Clark

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, Case Western Reserve University (2021)
  • Philosophical Interests: Social Philosophy, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law, Philosophy of Economics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Language, Metaethics
  • E-mail: yusaku.clark01@student.csulb.edu

Lissa Dechakul

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of California Riverside (2018)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Love, Gender and Sexuality, Feminist Philosophy, Ethics
  • E-mail: lidechakul@gmail.com

Toko Dougherty

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of California Los Angeles (2021)
  • Philosophical Interests: Ancient Philosophy, Modern Philosophy, Philosophy of Mind, Political Philosophy
  • E-mail: toko.dougherty01@student.csulb.edu

Alex Estevez

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, California State University Long Beach (2016)
  • Philosophical Interests: Ethics, Applied Metaphysics (esp. Personhood), Philosophy of Religion
  • E-mail: mauricioav10@gmail.com

Joseph Gordon

  • Degrees: BA in Political Science, University of California Berkeley (2018)
  • Philosophical Interests: Political Theory, Ethics, Applied Metaphysics (esp. Agency and Philosophy of Action), Nietzsche
  • E-mail: joe.gordon01@student.csulb.edu

Grant Gutierrez

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, California State University Long Beach (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Phenomenology, Philosophy of Cognitive Science
  • E-mail: grantngutierrez@gmail.com

Marinna Guzy

  • Degrees: Honors BA in Environmental Studies, Vassar College (2013); MFA in Sound Design, Savannah College of Art and Design (2015)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Perception, Phenomenology, Environmental Ethics, Philosophy of Science, Aesthetics
  • E-mail: marinna.guzy01@student.csulb.edu

Sanam Hassani

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of Tehran (2018)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Language, Ethics, Ancient Philosophy
  • E-mail: sani1080@yahoo.com

Tom Ho

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of Cincinnati (2007)
  • Philosophical Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Cognitive Science (esp. Enactivism)
  • E-mail: philosophytom@yahoo.com

Omar Hussein

  • Degrees: BA in English and MA in Teaching, University of Southern California (2007, 2008); MA in English Literature, California State University Long Beach (2016)
  • Philosophical Interests: Logic, Philosophy of Science, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language
  • E-mail: omar.hussein@csulb.edu
      

Dillon Kennedy

  • Degrees: Honors BA in Philosophy, California State University Long Beach (2022)
  • Philosophical Interests: Axiology, Political Philosophy, Normative Ethics, Marxism, Logic
  • E-mail: dillon.kennedy@student.csulb.edu

Meghan Kuhl

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo (2021)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Language (esp. Wittgenstein), Aesthetics (esp. Functional Beauty), Ancient Greek Philosophy
  • E-mail: meghan.kuhl@student.csulb.edu

Jeffrey Lee

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of California Los Angeles (2017)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Language, Epistemology, Ethics, Philosophy of Religion
  • E-mail: jefflee9810@yahoo.com

Daniel Luna

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy & BA in International Business, University of California San Diego (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests: History of Early Modern Philosophy (esp. Descartes), Epistemology
  • E-mail: dgluna11@gmail.com

Nikita Mandrychenko

  • Degrees: BS in Mathematics & BA in Philosophy, California State University Long Beach (2017)
  • Philosophical Interests: Ancient Philosophy, Philosophy of Mathematics, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Science
  • E-mail: nikitamand@yahoo.com

Jessica Manzo

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, California State University Bakersfield (2019)
  • Philosophical Interests: Ethics, Applied Ethics, Applied Metaphysics (esp. Agency), Philosophy for Children, Social Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy
  • E-mail: jessicaidk.8@gmail.com

Amanda Moore

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, California State University San Bernardino (2021).
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Language, Normative Ethics, Applied Ethics (esp. Animal Ethics, Environmental Ethics), Existentialism, Ancient Greek philosophy, Philosophy of Law.
  • E-mail: amanda.moore01@student.csulb.edu

Joel Murphy

  • Degrees: BA in philosophy, Reed College (); MA in English, Eastern Michigan University ()
  • Philosophical Interests: Ancient Greek Philosophy, Moral Philosophy (esp. MacIntyre, Williams), Philosophy of Mind (esp. Panpsychism), Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Literature, Aesthetics
  • E-mail: joel.murphy01@student.csulb.edu

Enoki Nguyen

  • Degrees: BBA in Marketing, Georgia State University (2011)
  • Philosophical Interests: Social Philosophy, Metaethics, Philosophy of Mind, Phenomenology
  • E-mail: enoki.nguyen@gmail.com

Chavva Olander

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, California State University Fullerton (2021)
  • Philosophical Interests: Existentialism (esp. Nietzsche, Nihilism), Phenomenology, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, Queer Theory, Ecocriticism and Animal Philosophy, Critical Theory
  • E-mail: chavva.olander@student.csulb.edu
Nicholas.Perez

Nicholas Perez

  • Degrees: BA in History, California State University Long Beach (2018)
  • Philosophical Interests: History of Philosophy (esp. Medieval), Indian Philosophy, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Religion
  • E-mail: pereznicholas345@gmail.com

Pedro Rapallo Zubillaga

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy & LLB in Law, University of Navarra (2019); MSc in Philosophy of Social Science, London School of Economics and Political Science (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Social Science, Metaphysics (esp. Social Ontology), Social Philosophy
  • E-mail: pedrorapallo1@gmail.com

Kevin Reyes

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, Connecticut College (2017)
  • Philosophical Interests: Existentialism, Ethics, Philosophy of Love, Critical Theory
  • E-mail: kevin.reyes03@student.csulb.edu

Manuel Rojas

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of California Los Angeles (2021)
  • Philosophical Interests: Aristotle, Medieval Philosophy (esp. Anselm, Aquinas, Bonaventure), Early Modern Philosophy (esp. Descartes, Leibniz)
  • E-mail: manuel.rojas02@student.csulb.edu

Peden Fitzhugh Sager

  • Degrees: BA in English, Wake Forest University (2000); JD Southern Methodist University School of Law (2005)
  • Philosophical Interests: Applied Ethics, Ethics, Philosophy of Technology, Philosophy of Law
  • E-mail: peden.sager01@student.csulb.edu

Alex Salvador

  • Degrees: Honors BA in Philosophy, California State University Long Beach (2021)
  • Philosophical Interests: Ancient Philosophy, Eastern Philosophy, History of Philosophy, Political Philosophy, Ethics, Existentialism
  • E-mail: alex.salvador@student.csulb.edu

Brian Sanchez

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, Sacramento State University (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests: Ancient Philosophy, History of Philosophy, Philosophy of Science, Normative Ethics (esp. Virtue Ethics), Metaphysics
  • E-mail: brian.sanchez02@student.csulb.edu

Ryan Schmidt

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, Humboldt State University (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Mind (esp. Mental Imagery), Pragmatism, Stoicism, Taoism, Political Philosophy (esp. Rawls)
  • E-mail: ryan.schmidt01@student.csulb.edu

Ning Shao

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, Shandong University (2021)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Cognitive Science, Philosophy of Neuroscience (esp. Psychopathology), Epistemology
  • E-mail: ningshao199981@outlook.com

Daniel Sierra

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, California State University Los Angeles (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Language (esp. Frege), Linguistics, Logic, Ancient Philosophy (esp. Plato), Epistemology, Metaphysics
  • E-mail: daniel.sierra01@student.csulb.edu

Esther Sims

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, University of California San Diego (2022)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophical Anthropology, Metaphysics (esp. Philosophy of Nature), Philosophy of Science
  • E-mail: esther.sims01@student.csulb.edu

Cody Spjut

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo (2021)
  • Philosophical Interests: Ancient Greek Philosophy (esp. Plato), History of Philosophy (esp. Women in Philosophy), Philosophy of Mind, Wittgenstein
  • E-mail: cody.spjut01@student.csulb.edu
Jon Tryby

Jon Tryby

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy & BA in Economics, California State University Long Beach (2013)
  • Philosophical Interests: Political Philosophy, Ethics, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Religion
  • E-mail: jonmtryby@hotmail.com

Delmy Ventura

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy, California State University Long Beach (2021)
  • Philosophical Interests: History of Early Modern Philosophy (esp. Descartes), Metaethics, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Cognitive Science, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law
  • E-mail: delmy.ventura@student.csulb.edu

Tanner Whitlow

  • Degrees: Honors BA in Philosophy, California State University Long Beach (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests: Social Philosophy (esp. Gender, Sexuality, Disability), Applied Ethics, Epistemology (esp. Epistemic Injustice, Self-Knowledge), Philosophy of Psychiatry, Cognitive Science
  • E-mail: tanner.whitlow@student.csulb.edu

Allen Yang

  • Degrees: BA in Philosophy & BA in Economics, University of California Irvine (2020)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Applied Metaphysics (esp. Philosophy of Action)
  • E-mail: allen.yang01@student.csulb.edu

Raley Zurcher

  • Degrees: Honors BA in Philosophy, University of Washington (2017)
  • Philosophical Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, Phenomenology, Philosophy of Language, History of Early Modern Philosophy (esp. Spinoza)
  • E-mail: raley.zurcher01@csulb.student.edu