Faculty

Linguistics Faculty

Click here for ASLD faculty

Photograph Information
Rebekha Abbuhl

Dr. Rebekha Abbuhl

Graduate advisor

Second language acquisition; second language writing; research methods; statistics for linguistic research

Office Hours: Tuesday 1:00 – 3:00 pm, Thursday 10:00 am – 12:00 pm

Michael Ahland

Dr. Michael Ahland

Undergraduate advisor

Syntax; typology; historical linguistics; evolution of grammar; language documentation; Omotic, Ethiopian-Semitic, and Uto-Aztecan languages

Office Hours: Monday 1:00 -2:00 pm, Wednesday 2:30 – 3:30 pm, Tuesday/Thursday 11:00 am – 12:00 pm, and by appointment 

Anna Bax

Dr. Anna Bax

Office Hours: Monday 10:00 – 11:00 am, Tuesday 2:00 – 4:00 pm, and by appointment (book a spot on Calendly)

Michael Fender

Dr. Michael Fender

First and second language literacy acquisition

Office Hours:

Malcolm Finney

Dr. Malcolm Finney
Director, Faculty Center for Professional Development

Language acquisition; bilingualism; Pidgin & Creole studies

Nancy Hall

Dr. Nancy Hall

Department chair

Phonetics; phonology; corpus linguistics; Semitic languages

Sarvenaz Hatami

Dr. Sarvenaz Hatami

TESOL; second language acquisition; second language teacher education

Office Hours: Tuesday/Thursday 11:00 am – 1:00 pm or by appointment

Dr. Wendy Klein

Language and culture; sociolinguistics; linguistic and cultural anthropology; ethnography of communication; Japanese

Office Hours: Tuesday 5:00 – 6:00 pm, Thursday 3:30 – 4:30 pm, or by email or appointment. 

Rezenet_Moges-Riedel.jpg

Dr. Rezenet Moges-Riedel

Office Hours: Monday/Wednesday 10:45 – 11:45 am, appointment only, Zoom ID: 790 674 4023.

 

Barbara LeMaster

Dr. Barbara LeMaster

Founder, ASLD program

Deaf sign languages; language and gender

Office Hours: Tuesday/Thursday 3:15 – 3:45 pm, 5:50 – 6:20 (after ASLD 101 in the zoom room), or by appointment. 

 Wanette Reynolds

Dr. Wanette Reynolds

bimodal bilingual language development; sign language acquisition; referent cohesion in sign languages; narrative development; heritage signers

Office Hours: Tuesday/Thursday 1:00 – 2:00 pm or by appointment. 

Office Location: PSY 413

Dr. Itxaso Rodriguez

Language Acquisition; Lab Phonetics

Office Hours: Monday/Wednesday 11:00 am – 12:00 pm, 2:00 – 4:00 pm

Office Location: PSY 411

Amir Sharifi

Dr. Amir Sharifi

Literacy socialization; Persian orthographic tradition; language and education; Kurdish as a heritage language.

Office Hours: Friday 3:00 -4:00 pm

 

Lecturers

Photograph Information
Colleen Ahland

Dr. Colleen Ahland

SPA-104
Office Hours: Monday/Wednesday 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Colleen.Ahland@csulb.edu

Nilo-Saharan languages; historical-comparative linguistics; syntax; semantics; language documentation; endangered languages; typology; descriptive linguistics; linguistic fieldwork; Ethiopian languages

 

Dr. Matthew Davidson

PSY-401
Office Hours: Tuesday/Thursday 9:30 – 10:30 am or by appointment (Zoom and in person)
(562) 985-5051
Matthew.Davidson@csulb.edu

Language documentation; language typology; historical linguistics; Wakashan languages

Ranida Delarosa

Ranida Delarosa

F05-231
Office Hours: Monday/Wednesday 5:00 – 5:30 pm or by appointment, Zoom ID: 956 4506 6605
Ranida.Delarosa@csulb.edu

Language acquisition; Southeast Asian dialects

Cem Demir

Cem Demir

FO5-233
Cem.Demir@csulb.edu

Corpus linguistics

Office Hours:

Cheryl Fantuzzi

Dr. Cheryl Fantuzzi

FO5-214
Office Hours: By appointment
(562) 985-4835
CherylFantuzzi@gmail.com

Language acquisition

Joseph Galasso

Dr. Joseph Galasso
PSY-401
Office Hours: Friday 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Joseph.Galasso@csun.edu

Syntactic processing; language acquisition

 

Dr. Bryn Hauk 

Bryn.Hauk@csulb.edu

Office Hours: 

petralott

Dr. Petra Lott

FO5-231
Office Hours: Monday/Wednesday 2:00 – 3:00 pm or by appointment 
(562) 985-4835
Petra.Lott@csulb.edu

Psycholinguistics; aphasia; linguistic effects of depression; German

 

Dr. Melissa Maceyko

FO3-318
(562) 985-5170
Melissa.Maceyko@csulb.edu

Diana Porras

Dr. Diana Porras

F05-233
Office Hours:
Diana.Porras@csulb.edu

Language acquisition; English language varieties studies; culturally and linguistically responsive pedagogy

Sergio Sandoval

Sergio Sandoval Sanchez

Office Hours: Tuesday 11:00 am – 12:00 pm or by appointment (in person or Zoom)

Sergio.SandovalSanchez@csulb.edu

Phonology; Modern English Grammar
 

Adrienne Lynett

Office Hours:

Adrienne.Lynett@csulb.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty

Photograph Information
John Attinasi

Dr. John Attinasi

Robert Hertz Dr. Robert Hertz
Lorraine Kumpf

Dr. Lorraine Kumpf

Lorraine.Kumpf@csulb.edu

Discourse and grammar; functional syntax; formulaicity; African languages

Xiaoping Liang

Dr. Xiaoping Liang

Xiaoping.Liang@csulb.edu

Carol Lord

Dr. Carol Lord

Carol.Lord@csulb.edu

Language structures and historical change; language proficiency and assessments; literacy

 

In Memoriam

Photograph

Information

Alexandra Jaffe

Dr. Alexandra Jaffe

Linguistic anthropology; sociolinguistics; Corsica; minority languages; education; media

Pamela Bunte

Dr. Pamela Bunte

Picture of Stephen Ross

Dr. Stephen Ross

Sara Smith Dr. Sara Smith