Faculty

Faculty

TENURED/TENURE-TRACK FACULTY

 Mary Caputi Mary Caputi
Ph.D, Cornell University
Political theory, feminist theory, post-colonialism, critical theory, psychoanalysis
Email: Mary.Caputi@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 243
Phone:(562) 985-4719

Anand Commissiong
Ph.D, Rutgers University
Political theory
Email: Anand.Commissiong@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 231
Phone: (562) 985-4961

 Darin Dewitt Darin DeWitt
Ph.D, University of California, Los Angeles
American Institutions, Political Parties, State Politics
Email: Darin.Dewitt@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 227
Phone: (562) 985-4711
Matthew Garcia Matthew Mendez Garcia
Ph.D, University of Southern California
American politics, with a focus on representation, legislative behavior, race and ethnicity, political behavior, intersectionality, and immigration
Email: Matthew.Garcia@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 237
Phone: (562) 985-4702
Larry George Larry George
Ph.D, Princeton University
International politics, political theory, religion and political violence
Email: Larry.George@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 239
Phone: (562) 985-5289
 FullSizeRender Cora Goldstein
Ph.D, University of Chicago
Graduate Coordinator
Comparative politics, military occupations, democratization by force, politics and culture 
Email: Cora.Goldstein@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 247
Phone: (562) 985-4852
  Liesl Haas
Ph.D, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Latin American politics, gender and politics, religion and politics
Email: Liesl.Haas@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 233
Phone: (562) 985-5860
 Rich Haesly photo Richard Haesly
Ph.D, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Undergraduate Advisor 
Comparative politics, nationalism, national identities, human rights, religion
Email: Rich.Haesly@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 245
Phone: (562) 985-4700
Matt Lensenyie Matt Lesenyie
Ph.D, University of California, Davis
American politics, political psychology, interest groups, race politics, and California politics
Email: Matt.Lesenyie@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 235
Phone: (562) 985-4713
 charlesmahoney2-340w

Charles Mahoney
Ph.D, University of California, Los Angeles
Internship Director
International security, terrorism, insurgency, private military and security corporations
Email: Charles.Mahoney@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 229
Phone: (562) 985-8203

Kathryn Perkins photo Kathryn J. Perkins
Ph.D, University of North Texas

Public Law, Trans Feminism, LGBTQ Politics, Feminist Legal Theory, Interest Groups, and Trans Studies
Email: Kathryn.Perkins@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 223
Phone: (562) 985-4708

Amy Cabrera Rasmussen
Ph.D, Yale University
Department Chair
American politics and public policy, health care, reproductive and sexual health, intersectionality, and interpretive methods
Email: Amy.Rasmussen@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 257 (POSC office)
Phone: (562) 985-4705

  Kevin Wallsten
Ph.D, University of California Berkeley
American politics, political behavior, mass media and internet
Email: Kevin.Wallsten@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 225
Phone: (562) 985-4709
  Jason Whitehead
Ph.D, University of Southern California, J.D., Willamette University
Legal Studies Director
Law and courts, judicial politics, judicial decision making, constitutional law, legal theory, religion and law
Email: Jason.Whitehead@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 251
Phone: (562) 985-4712
  Teresa Wright
Ph.D, University of California, Berkeley

Comparative politics, China/Taiwan, social movements, capitalism and democracy
Email: Teresa.Wright@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 241
Phone: (562) 985-4897

LECTURERS

Photograph Information
  Edgar Kaskla
Ph.D, University of California Irvine
PSSA Advisor
International political economy, American political economy and the power elite, California government, East European politics, theory, and politics of the future
Email: Edgar.Kaskla@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 249
Phone: (562) 985-7091
 Metaxas Faculty Photo

Christopher Metaxas
Ph.D (ABD), University of California, Riverside
Comparative politics and international relations 
Email: Christopher.Metaxas@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 354
Phone: (562) 985-2720

 

Lewis Ringel
Ph.D, University of Maryland

Moot Court Director 
Judicial internship, media and politics, and constitutional law

Email: Lewis.Ringel@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 336
Phone: (562) 985-5682

Moot Court Website     Judicial Internship Website

PART-TIME LECTURERS

Photograph Information
Debito Beamer

Debito Beamer
Ph.D, Meiji Gajuin University, Tokyo, Japan
International Relations, Racial Discrimination, Japan

Email: Debito.Beamer@csulb.edu

Alfredo Carlos

Alfredo Carlos
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine
Political Economy; Labor and Inequality; Economic Democracy; Mexican, Chicano and Latino Politics; Racial and Ethnic Politics; Immigration; Social Movements; Postcolonial and Critical Theory; Politics in Entertainment Media.

Email: Alfredo.Carlos@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 346
Phone: (562) 985-4746

  Michael Chan
Email: Michael.Chan@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 340
Phone: (562) 985-4716
 

Som Chounlamountry
M.A., University of Southern California
American Government, California Government, Comparative Politics, International Relations, Political Movements, Terrorism and Genocide

Email: Som.Chounlamountry@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 346
Phone: (562) 985-4746

Nathen Cruz

Nathen Cruz
M.A., California State University, Long Beach
United States Government and the interaction between ideology and media consumption

Jack Cunningham

Jack Cunningham
M.A., New York University
International Issues of Terrorism, Political Violence, Social Movements, and Democracy

Email: Jack.Cunningham@csulb.edu

Marshall Goodman

Marshall Goodman
M.P.A., California State University, Long Beach
Public Administration, Public Policy, Urban Affairs

Email: Marshall.Goodman@csulb.edu

Steven Gonzales

Steven Gonzales
M.A., California State University, Long Beach
American Politics, Political Theory

Sekwen Kim

Sekwen Kim
Ph.D., Claremont Graduate University
Public Policy and Computational Analytics

Email: Sekwen.Kim@csulb.edu

Shawn Matiossian

Shawn Matiossian
M.A., Claremont Graduate University
Political Behavior, The Media, Public Opinion and Influence

Email: Shawn.Matiossian@csulb.edu

Alexandra Lohman

Alexandra Lohman
J.D., Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law
Constitutional Law, Public Interest Law, Children and the Law

Email: Alex.Lohman@csulb.edu

Grace Malinao

Grace Malinao

M.A., California State University, Long Beach

American Politics, Political Theory, Post-Colonial Theory, Environmental Political Theory

Email: Grace.Malinao@csulb.edu

Matt McGarvey

Matthew McGarvey
Ph.D., University of California, San Diego
Body, Space, Perception, and Power. Marxism, Anarchism, and Post-Structuralism. Ideology and Media Systems. Revolutionary Movements.

Email: Matt.McGarvey@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 352
Phone: (562) 985-8802

 Vahid Niayesh photo

Vahid Niayesh
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine
Comparative politics and International Relations

Email: Vahid.Niayesh@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 354
Phone: (562) 985-2720

Kendrick Roberson

Kendrick Roberson
MS, University of Southern California,
MS, Pepperdine University
Black Political Economy and Labor Union Organization

Email: Kendrick.Roberson@csulb.edu

  Robert Shurtz
Email: Robert.Shurtz@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 340
Phone: (562) 985-4716
Nicholas Stowell

Nicholas Stowell
Ph.D., Claremont Graduate University
World Politics and Computational Analytics

Email: Nicholas.Stowell@csulb.edu

Simon Tang

Simon Tang
Ph.D., Claremont Graduate University
International Relations, Comparative Politics, Social Revolutions, Social Movements, American Politics, International Political Economy, Politics of Northeast Asia, and Government and Politics of China

Email: Simon.Tang@csulb.edu

 

JoAnn Victor
Email: Joann.Victor@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 344
Phone: (562) 985-4736